Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Single stage or basecoat/clear coat for an e30?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Single stage or basecoat/clear coat for an e30?

Hey everyone,

I'm new here and I just acquired a 1988 325e restoration project. My goal for the project is to do as much as possible myself. While I have some experience with automotive painting, ive never painted a whole car before. I do have access to a nice paint gun with a regulator and have a 60 gallon air compressor. The car is completely stripped right now and just needs some filler and sanding.

My question is, if you were to paint your e30, would you use a single stage or bc/cc paint and why?

I've been reading that single stage is easier and you can get deep colors and nice shine if done properly, but the two stage will last longer.

Anyone have experience on which is easier to maintain? I'm very meticulous when it comes to detailing and keep my paint on my cars in very good shape.
    Last edited by CJ_; 10-17-2016, 05:33 PM.

I would go 2 stage. It looks and protects the color better. Makes the color look deeper as well. Single stage reds would fade pink over time on these cars.
    "I'd probably take the E30 M3 in this case just because I love that little car, and how tanky that inline 6 is." - thecj

85 323i M TECH 1 S52 - ALPINEWEISS/SCHWARZE
    88 M3 - LACHSSILBER/SCHWARZE
    89 M3 - ALPINEWEISS II/M TECH CLOTH-ALCANTARA
    91 M TECHNIC CABRIO TURBO - MACAOBLAU/M TECH CLOTH-LEATHER

Comment

I'd suggest base clear its better quality, looks better, lasts longer it's simply a better paint. Obviously the most expensive single stage can be better then the cheapest base clear but I'd suggest talking to a local paint shop or restoration shop.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk
      Your signature picture has been removed since it contained the Photobucket "upgrade your account" image.

IX being restored here

Ix turbo build here

Comment