R3VLimited Forums

Go Back   R3VLimited Forums > E30 Technical Forums > General Technical

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-09-2011, 04:40 PM   #16
pharow
E30 Enthusiast
 
pharow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Salisbury, MD
Posts: 1,020
I had the same problem. It was a clogged return line in the gas tank. I had to replace the tank.

Just check your return lines.
__________________
N.1.B.
'87 325is 5sp
'88 325is auto.
'93 Kawasaki ZR1100
'99 Chevy Blazer LT
pharow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 04:55 PM   #17
DaveSmed
E30 Fanatic
 
DaveSmed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 1,405
Grab a fuel pressure tester, tee it into the feed line.

Next, remove the bolts that hold the fuel rail into the intake, and wiggle the rail/injectors out and lay them on the valve cover.

Remove and jumper the fuel pump relay to turn on the pump.



Now, make sure every injector is dry and post up your gauge reading.
__________________
-Dave
2003 Lincoln Towncar | 1992 BMW 325iC | 1968 Cadillac Deville

Need some help figuring out the ETM?
DaveSmed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 05:03 PM   #18
lolcantturn
R3V Elite
 
lolcantturn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South NJ
Posts: 4,493
Quote:
Originally Posted by pharow View Post
I had the same problem. It was a clogged return line in the gas tank. I had to replace the tank.

Just check your return lines.
Oh my..I don't want to have to replace my tank ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveSmed View Post
Grab a fuel pressure tester, tee it into the feed line.

Next, remove the bolts that hold the fuel rail into the intake, and wiggle the rail/injectors out and lay them on the valve cover.

Remove and jumper the fuel pump relay to turn on the pump.



Now, make sure every injector is dry and post up your gauge reading.

Will do, just gotta get hold of a fuel pressure gauge now. What could change the pressure? My FPR is new..when I disconnect the fuel return from the FPR it's basically dry
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by TSI View Post
♫ Rust flecks are falling on my head...♫
OEM+
lolcantturn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 06:36 PM   #19
StereoInstaller1
GAS
 
StereoInstaller1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Centralia, WA
Posts: 22,683
Hmmm..dry? No way should that return line be dry.

Check the vacuum source on the FPR.
__________________

Closing SOON!
"LAST CHANCE FOR G.A.S." DEAL IS ON NOW

Luke AT germanaudiospecialties DOT com or text 425-761-6450, or for quickest answers, call me at the shop 360-669-0398

Thanks for 10 years of fun!
StereoInstaller1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 06:25 AM   #20
lolcantturn
R3V Elite
 
lolcantturn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South NJ
Posts: 4,493
Quote:
Originally Posted by StereoInstaller1 View Post
Hmmm..dry? No way should that return line be dry.

Check the vacuum source on the FPR.
Will do. I know the vac line is good, the actual line itself is in good condition but not sure if it's vacuuming or not. I know that if I disconnect the fuel return line from the FPR and jump the fuel pump It shoots out gas at the rate Bentley recommends
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by TSI View Post
♫ Rust flecks are falling on my head...♫
OEM+
lolcantturn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 06:47 AM   #21
b*saint
No R3VLimiter
 
b*saint's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Southwick MA
Posts: 3,800
How rich does hell actually run? Do they have a dirty injector or something?
__________________
Ma che cazzo state dicendo?
b*saint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 07:18 AM   #22
lolcantturn
R3V Elite
 
lolcantturn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South NJ
Posts: 4,493
Quote:
Originally Posted by b*saint View Post
How rich does hell actually run? Do they have a dirty injector or something?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by TSI View Post
♫ Rust flecks are falling on my head...♫
OEM+
lolcantturn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 03:08 PM   #23
lolcantturn
R3V Elite
 
lolcantturn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South NJ
Posts: 4,493
well I am stumped ladies and gentlemen.

FPR return line looks good, I turned on the car without the line attached to the FPR and it was gushing out adequately. Vaccum line to it is..vacuuming. No exhaust leaks. all spark plugs spark. Oxygen sensor is receiving signal, main relay is receiving signal, coolant temp sensor is recieving signal, coolant temp sender is too. Switched out DME's same problem.
One thing I noticed is that my MPG's go up (according to the "all accurate OBC) from 10.1MPG to 12.7MPG max when im NOT idling.


fuckkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk kkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by TSI View Post
♫ Rust flecks are falling on my head...♫
OEM+
lolcantturn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 08:31 PM   #24
Blackangusinc
Wrencher
 
Blackangusinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Beaverton, OR
Posts: 244
It was gushing out of the fpr right? Meaning the return line could still be plugged.
__________________
971-295-7077

91' 318i
Blackangusinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 08:33 PM   #25
Gruelius
Wrencher
 
Gruelius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 298
try breathing through it if you cbfed buying a fuel pressure tester.

did you funk with the afm?
Gruelius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 10:24 PM   #26
lennon
E30 Fanatic
 
lennon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: tampa
Posts: 1,417
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackangusinc View Post
It was gushing out of the fpr right? Meaning the return line could still be plugged.
+1

You need to put a pressure gauge in and check the pressure at the rail. A clogged return line will cause the pressure to be very high, thus the engine will run very rich if at all. I just had to replace a tank in an e30 because of this. The late model tanks return line runs into the tank and across the inside. These can get clogged, but usually from sitting and tank rusting and all. I would be a little surprised if your return line got clogged out of nowhere. However, since you're troubleshooting a fuel problem, you need to test the fuel pressure...

edit: BTW autozone or whoever your local chain store is should have fuel pressure gauge sets in their tools you can "borrow". Just put down the deposit and bring it back when you want.
lennon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 04:21 AM   #27
lolcantturn
R3V Elite
 
lolcantturn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South NJ
Posts: 4,493
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackangusinc View Post
It was gushing out of the fpr right? Meaning the return line could still be plugged.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gruelius View Post
try breathing through it if you cbfed buying a fuel pressure tester.

did you funk with the afm?
Quote:
Originally Posted by lennon View Post
+1

You need to put a pressure gauge in and check the pressure at the rail. A clogged return line will cause the pressure to be very high, thus the engine will run very rich if at all. I just had to replace a tank in an e30 because of this. The late model tanks return line runs into the tank and across the inside. These can get clogged, but usually from sitting and tank rusting and all. I would be a little surprised if your return line got clogged out of nowhere. However, since you're troubleshooting a fuel problem, you need to test the fuel pressure...

edit: BTW autozone or whoever your local chain store is should have fuel pressure gauge sets in their tools you can "borrow". Just put down the deposit and bring it back when you want.
Right-o, I'll go borrow a fuel pressure gauge today. I will be very pissed if I have to replace my gas tank ugh. I don't see how it could clog out of no where, my car never sits lol.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by TSI View Post
♫ Rust flecks are falling on my head...♫
OEM+
lolcantturn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 05:24 AM   #28
lennon
E30 Fanatic
 
lennon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: tampa
Posts: 1,417
Quote:
Originally Posted by lolcantturn View Post
Right-o, I'll go borrow a fuel pressure gauge today. I will be very pissed if I have to replace my gas tank ugh. I don't see how it could clog out of no where, my car never sits lol.
yeah, it's probably not the return line out of nowhere. just gotta see those fuel pressure numbers!
lennon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 10:56 AM   #29
StereoInstaller1
GAS
 
StereoInstaller1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Centralia, WA
Posts: 22,683
Yeah, fuel pressure and residual fuel pressure are both critical.
__________________

Closing SOON!
"LAST CHANCE FOR G.A.S." DEAL IS ON NOW

Luke AT germanaudiospecialties DOT com or text 425-761-6450, or for quickest answers, call me at the shop 360-669-0398

Thanks for 10 years of fun!
StereoInstaller1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 11:39 AM   #30
Bene
Grease Monkey
 
Bene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: or... um? Utah
Posts: 358
how old/dirty are your plugs? or your ignition system in general

my car ran like ass, and my exhaust looked like an old diesel in the morning. I changed the plugs and now it runs incredibly smooth.
Bene is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2004 - 2020 R3VLimited LLC