R3VLimited Forums

Go Back   R3VLimited Forums > E30 Technical Forums > Engine & Drivetrain > Alternative Tuning / W.A.R / Megasquirt / etc

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-14-2016, 10:58 AM   #1
haaken675
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: FL
Posts: 120
MS on 24 swapped e30?

Hey guys. I have spent my lunch hour searching but so far havn't seen an answer to my question. What will I need to make megasquirt work with a 24v swapped e30? They make pnp kits for the m20/30 motors, but nothing that looks like it is premade for the m5x's. I know you can build them yourself to suit your needs, but I think that one goes a bit beyond my ability...

Do you need to build a custom harness? Has anyone seen a thread that explains what needs to be done?
haaken675 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2016, 11:21 AM   #2
2mAn
R3V OG
 
2mAn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Culver City
Posts: 9,397
Whats the point? Just go OBD2, get the BS emissions stuff flashed out and enjoy simplicity
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReallyDirtyThirty View Post
Just keep pushing it in... when you think you can't push it in any farther, push harder.
Simon
Current Cars:
-2008 C350 Sport... the daily?
-1984 BMW 318 with Aluminum M52B28 and other goodies... cant be killed!
2mAn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2016, 11:41 AM   #3
haaken675
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: FL
Posts: 120
I am looking to build a motor. Either a high comp 2.9 or 3.0 frankenmotor, cams, headers, etc. The stock ecu is not going to get me where I want to be and trying to do remote tunes/flashes probably will be very expensive. unless I missed something, you can't just tap into the ob2 ecu from my home pc can I?
haaken675 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2016, 12:37 PM   #4
berlow94
E30 Modder
 
berlow94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Hancock, VT
Posts: 919
Quote:
Originally Posted by haaken675 View Post
I am looking to build a motor. Either a high comp 2.9 or 3.0 frankenmotor, cams, headers, etc. The stock ecu is not going to get me where I want to be and trying to do remote tunes/flashes probably will be very expensive. unless I missed something, you can't just tap into the ob2 ecu from my home pc can I?


Why spend all of that money on the hardware and then buy a cheapo standalone.
Do you think there are any professional motorsports teams using OBD 2 or megasquirt? They aren't. They are using quality computers such as Emtron, Haltech, Motec, Vipec, Link, etc. all of these computers offer waaayyy better performance and reliability. It doesn't even come at a premium either!

Link now makes a PnP unit that retails for $1.2k and plugs right into an e36 obd1 engine harness.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
The best one-stop shopping for German car parts and lifestyle: http://www.gutenparts.com/
berlow94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2016, 12:56 PM   #5
haaken675
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: FL
Posts: 120
I'm talking about a ~$2k motor build...All the systems you just listed are probably more then half of the engine build cost...And megasquirt doesn't look to cheap to me anymore...Not building a race car here, looking for an average guys weekend warrior car...
haaken675 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2016, 12:58 PM   #6
2mAn
R3V OG
 
2mAn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Culver City
Posts: 9,397
Quote:
Originally Posted by berlow94 View Post

Link now makes a PnP unit that retails for $1.2k and plugs right into an e36 obd1 engine harness.
Link to the link?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReallyDirtyThirty View Post
Just keep pushing it in... when you think you can't push it in any farther, push harder.
Simon
Current Cars:
-2008 C350 Sport... the daily?
-1984 BMW 318 with Aluminum M52B28 and other goodies... cant be killed!
2mAn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2016, 01:04 PM   #7
berlow94
E30 Modder
 
berlow94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Hancock, VT
Posts: 919
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2mAn View Post
Link to the link?


http://www.aceperformancesystems.com...0-plug-in-ecu/

PM me and I'll put you in touch with my tuner. I'm using this ecu with my fully blueprinted S52 race motor. He knows these things inside and out.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
The best one-stop shopping for German car parts and lifestyle: http://www.gutenparts.com/
berlow94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2016, 01:05 PM   #8
dereliiict
Mod Crazy
 
dereliiict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Little Beirut
Posts: 607
So, you haven't stated what engine you will be using, but all you need for an m50 stroker build using m54 rotating assy is a red label 413 ecu with a green label 503 chip. Or buy a chip from turner.

Look up hakentt on YouTube. He basically outlines this clearly.

Odd about the user names...hopefully not related.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
__________________
Derek-
dereliiict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2016, 01:31 PM   #9
haaken675
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: FL
Posts: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by dereliiict View Post
So, you haven't stated what engine you will be using, but all you need for an m50 stroker build using m54 rotating assy is a red label 413 ecu with a green label 503 chip. Or buy a chip from turner.

Look up hakentt on YouTube. He basically outlines this clearly.

Odd about the user names...hopefully not related.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Nope, no relation. I have seen some of his posts and videos as well. Again, I want to be able to tune the ecu, not just get the car running on factory mapping. Again, I'm planning on running higher compression, high lift cams, long tubes, etc. A factory chip isn't really going to get me where I want to go.

I haven't decided on a motor yet as I am planning so I don't have to buy twice. What I have been considering is doing a high comp (11-11.5) non vanos motor for simplicity sake with some cat cams (275/268) or potentially a vanos motor with a similar profile cam. Someone please correct me if I am wrong, but there isn't a really good way to tune a factory ecu for this type of setup right?
haaken675 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2016, 01:32 PM   #10
haaken675
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: FL
Posts: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by berlow94 View Post
http://www.aceperformancesystems.com...0-plug-in-ecu/

PM me and I'll put you in touch with my tuner. I'm using this ecu with my fully blueprinted S52 race motor. He knows these things inside and out.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I will do some research on this one. I have never heard of this company. If it really is plug and play, it is similar in price to what it looks like an MS3 unit is going to run me with all of the features I think I would want.
haaken675 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2016, 01:35 PM   #11
berlow94
E30 Modder
 
berlow94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Hancock, VT
Posts: 919
Quote:
Originally Posted by haaken675 View Post
Nope, no relation. I have seen some of his posts and videos as well. Again, I want to be able to tune the ecu, not just get the car running on factory mapping. Again, I'm planning on running higher compression, high lift cams, long tubes, etc. A factory chip isn't really going to get me where I want to go.



I haven't decided on a motor yet as I am planning so I don't have to buy twice. What I have been considering is doing a high comp (11-11.5) non vanos motor for simplicity sake with some cat cams (275/268) or potentially a vanos motor with a similar profile cam. Someone please correct me if I am wrong, but there isn't a really good way to tune a factory ecu for this type of setup right?


There is no really good way to tune a factory ecu for a performance motor like that. Factory ECU's hardware is optimized for fuel efficiency and emissions. Only a standalone will allow you to fully unlock what a motor is capable of AND do it in a safe matter that won't destroy expensive shiny parts. The other plus to a standalone is that unless you get a PnP (and even then) you can use that ecu for anything from a N/A v12 to a turbo L4. You only pay once!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
The best one-stop shopping for German car parts and lifestyle: http://www.gutenparts.com/
berlow94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2016, 01:38 PM   #12
haaken675
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: FL
Posts: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by berlow94 View Post
There is no really good way to tune a factory ecu for a performance motor like that. Factory ECU's hardware is optimized for fuel efficiency and emissions. Only a standalone will allow you to fully unlock what a motor is capable of AND do it in a safe matter that won't destroy expensive shiny parts. The other plus to a standalone is that unless you get a PnP (and even then) you can use that ecu for anything from a N/A v12 to a turbo L4. You only pay once!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
And that's exactly why I'm looking at standalones!
haaken675 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2016, 04:41 PM   #13
dereliiict
Mod Crazy
 
dereliiict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Little Beirut
Posts: 607
Yep. What berlow said. And reading between his lines, he is telling you to spend the money up front if you're going standalone. Even if the current build is inexpensive. It will be worth it later.

I am getting into mine as soon as we get settled into our new house in November, so good luck to you with yours.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
__________________
Derek-
dereliiict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2016, 05:38 AM   #14
haaken675
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: FL
Posts: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by dereliiict View Post
Yep. What berlow said. And reading between his lines, he is telling you to spend the money up front if you're going standalone. Even if the current build is inexpensive. It will be worth it later.

I am getting into mine as soon as we get settled into our new house in November, so good luck to you with yours.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
I definitely understand spending more when it is warranted. Is there something one of then other standalones will do for me that I would really want that MS3 with the MSx expansion board doesn't do?
haaken675 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2016, 05:45 AM   #15
berlow94
E30 Modder
 
berlow94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Hancock, VT
Posts: 919
Quote:
Originally Posted by haaken675 View Post
I definitely understand spending more when it is warranted. Is there something one of then other standalones will do for me that I would really want that MS3 with the MSx expansion board doesn't do?


VE fueling.
6d ignition mapping
Factory sensor compatibility
Precision closed loop Vanos control
Reliable closed loop knock control
Individual cylinder trim
Many different cold start strategies
Overrun fuel cut
A company you can actually call if you have a problem.

Read this: http://www.aceperformancesystems.com...able-blending/



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
The best one-stop shopping for German car parts and lifestyle: http://www.gutenparts.com/
berlow94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2004 - 2020 R3VLimited LLC