M30 engine mount plans

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

M30 engine mount plans

So I'm after the plans for the e30-m30 engine mounts. I'm aware there are different positions for them. I'm welder by trade so, I'm happy to fab them up myself and save a few dollars. Any leads would be amazing. Thank you

Is it a b34 or b35? The passenger mount will differ between the two.

Also, I found no plans with a decent amount of searching when I made mine, so I just hung the motor in there and got it where I wanted it and tacked some up. I did the trans crossmember first to hold the motor where I wanted it fore to aft.

Good luck and welcome to the forum.

edit: I reckon it'll be the driver side mount that differs for you down there in upside-down land.
    Last edited by Ether-D; 11-19-2014, 06:28 AM.
    Originally posted by Andy.B
    Whenever I am about to make a particularly questionable decision regarding a worryingly cheap diy solution, I just ask myself, "What would Ether-D do?"
    1987 325iS m30b34 Muscle car (Engine electrical phase)
    ~~~~~~~~~~
    I was born on 3/25…
    ~~~~~~~~~~

Comment

Yeah okay. It's in the car I'm about to buy, 99% sure it's b35. And yeah it might even be worth just buying some and I'm keen to get the engine in. And the welder is at work with the car at home which makes it hard hah. But thanks for the advice :)

Comment

I made plates for the block and rubber mounts first then hung the motor in position where I tack welded supports on place. its a bit tricky getting around the steering shaft, and I replaced the rubber donut coupling with a steel one to prevent melting, also if your using the original m30 exhaust manifold you need to modify to clear the steering shaft

Welcome and good luck!
        ///Monstrosity. (OO≡≡[][]≡≡OO)