Turbo and compression ration questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Turbo and compression ration questions

Im building a 2.7i stroker turbo for drifting, I have a 78mm Turbonetics hurricane, looking for high numbers, and thinking about running around 20psi. This is my first build so I need a lot of brains to pick. I'm combining a eta block with a I head which I read has a 8.4:1 ratio. I'm installing a .120 mls headgasket and was wondering what my ratio would look like with that. I'm also using arp head studs and was wondering what else should be upgraded for high boost. Everything included, not just the engine. I don't have money to blow (yes I know this stuff is expensive) but I only want to upgrade what's necessary.

Any information would be greatly appreciated.

I know there are plenty of threads and information out there, trust me, I'm researching. But would like to pick some brains and learn new stuff. Thanks!

That's an awfully thick head gasket and an awfully large turbo (those are usually on engines with twice the displacement of an M20). Sounds like a recipe for an enormous amount of turbo lag.

IG @turbovarg
    '91 318is, M20 turbo
    [CoTM: 4-18]
    '94 525iT slicktop, M50B30 + S362SX-E, 600WHP DD or bust
    - updated 3-17

Comment

sqrt((boost/14.7)+1) x CR=ECR

sqrt=square root
      boost=psi of boost
      CR=static compression ratio of the motor
      ECR=effective compression ratio

((20/14.7)+1x8.4=ECR
      ECR=19.8285714
      19.8285714=need good tune + high octane gas + retard timing

Found this hope it helps

Comment

Originally posted by Jdurb729 View Post