Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

IE (Sorry not UUC) Vs Massive BBK, Help?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

IE (Sorry not UUC) Vs Massive BBK, Help?

I'm a brake upgrade newbie and I'd really like some opinions on these existing setups. I'd prefer personal experience where possible. I run flat faced Arc-8 wheels and have no concerns with either kit clearing them, templates all say they fit.

Massive: 332mm front kit (4 pot caliper) with the 300(?)mm rear kit (a 4 pot caliper)

IE (not UUC, sorry folks) 310mm front and rear kit, 6 pot front 4 pot rear caliper

Is one kit better made than the other? Is more stopping power offered from a 6 pot vs 4 or is it just dependent on pad selection and rotor contact patch?

Maybe noteworthy, I'd like to retain the booster/MC side of my current brake setup; I'm S52 swapped with a 944 booster and OEM MC if possible.

The car makes good power and I'm getting ready to add some boost to make more, but before I do I need brakes. Thanks!
    Last edited by Nick's e30; 01-12-2017, 12:40 PM.
    No antenna? I sell plugs!

Here: https://www.r3vlimited.com/board/sho...77#post4937877

UUC offers a 310mm with 6 and 4 piston calipers front and rear? Or are you referring to Ireland Engineering's kits?

Full disclosure, I used to put together the Ireland Engineering kits and helped to design a few of the kits. However, I have massive (punny!) respect for Le. There is no direct answer to your question. I have laid out some of the positive and negative factors of both setups below to help you make your own decision.

IE's 310mm kits:
    Pros:
    -Lower Cost.
    -Slimmer 6-piston caliper for better wheel clearance.
    -Braking has been proven to be up to snuff for several track monsters.
    -slimmer and smaller rotors means less additional rotating mass is added.
    Cons
    -Wilwood makes nice calipers, but AP's machining and engineering is a step above.