Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can an aftermarket head unit cause gauges not to work

Hello,

I'm new to r3v and haven't found much information on this topic.

I recently bought an E30 to swap as my first big project, and the original M20 engine blew because the temp gauge wasn't working, and the previous owner did not fix it. I looked into it, and all of the connections on the temp gauge seem to be clean, but I still sanded the three poles that go into the cluster. The test from the Bently Manual of grounding the brown/purple wire has yielded no results on the original cluster I have, and on a new one I found from a junkyard.

A few days ago, I was reading up on some things and found a person who claimed that a bad install of a head unit caused random gauges to stop working.

My question would be if anyone has any information on the wires that may be involved in this issue, thank you.

Yes, a FUBAR install could cause many other things to be FUBAR.
    ACS S3 Build / Dinan 5 E34

Comment

Originally posted by TimeMachinE30 View Post
      Yes, a FUBAR install could cause many other things to be FUBAR.
      So today I removed and unplugged the aftermarket head unit, the same problem persists, which I find strange. I did try another beet up cluster, and had the same results of all the gauges but the temp gauge working. I don't suspect the instrument panel to be the issue since the one in the car right now is very clean and doesn't have any obvious damage.

I will keep looking.

Comment

Few questions.
        What actually happens to the gauge, Is it completely dead? Does it work intermittently? or does it bounce around?
        1990 325i
        2004 330i Individual 6-speed
        sigpic

Comment

Could be a bad temp sender on the engine. Hard to tell if the gauge is working without running the engine up to operating temp.