Advice on Changing My Career Path?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advice on Changing My Career Path?

I need some career path advice, or at least, I need to be pointed in the right direction to start figuring this out.

I've been in the same job since I graduated with degrees in Mechanical Engineer (Nuclear Engineering concentration) and Physics (Math minor) in 2013. I now have 3 years of experience doing code compliance work, preparing engineering evaluations, and performing fire modeling for the commercial nuclear industry. My plan was to work for 2-3 years while I figure out what I really want to do. That time is coming to an end and I've had several realizations that come from my limited work experience in my current position:

-I'm not happy sitting in my cubical everyday from 9-5. It might be that my current job is not particularly exciting, but I just don't feel engaged. I feel like the only challenge I face is meeting unrealistic deadlines.

-I got a couple of misdemeanors one drunken night several years ago and there is a possibility that they will be a constant problem in such a regulated industry.

-I miss doing work with my hands and being out in the field.

-The part of my job I enjoy the most is when I get to problem solve and design solutions.

-Working for a small family owned company allows more flexibility, but navigating the family/friendship ties and nepotism is challenging. Also, the small scope of projects doesn't provide much room for advancement.

With all of that in mind, I think it's the right time for me to switch jobs. Which is great because my girlfriend will be moving to one of 6 cities depending on where she gets into grad school, so I want to follow her. (Seattle, Berkeley, Denver, Philadelphia, New Haven, or Charlotte)

That being said, I'm starting to question what's next: