1990 e30 325I LS1 swap thread

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1990 e30 325I LS1 swap thread

Hello to all! My name is Wes and this will be my journey into the e30 LS swap. I work at a performance shop outside of Atlanta, GA where we support a few e30 spec racers. I love the body style of the e30 but looking at what you have to do to get any performance out of a M20, I decided to just go with a LS swap. I'm already partial to the LS motor and really know nothing about BMW engines so the fit seemed right. I'm by no means a mechanic but I am capable of doing most things with help(I sit behind a desk all day). My goal was to find something that was in pretty good shape cosmetically because I would be parting with the drive train anyway. Here is what I came up withClick image for larger version

Name:	E301.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	52.6 KB
ID:	7247447

Click image for larger version

Name:	e302.jpg
Size:	50.4 KB
ID:	7247448

Click image for larger version

Name:	e303.jpg
Size:	56.7 KB
ID:	7247449

The paint is in good shape. The front seats and carpet will need replacing but the dash is crack free. The car is lowered with some brand of coilovers - not sure what they are. I'm going to hold off on pulling the motor until i have everything ready to go. I will be going with a full sikky kit, chase bays BBE and wiring specialties wiring harness. The motor and trans were pulled from a 2001 trans am and I will be posting some pics of that process shortly. Any feedback or suggestions along the way is greatly appreciated!

I found a donor 2001 Trans Am. Owner had broken off a spark plug in the head. No big deal because I have other plans for the head[IMG]http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160303/d3d4d2d388ffb92fe58bde2f00b0be4f.jpg[/IMG
    engine was really dirty....I was going to pull it down anyway but I was just hoping that it was in fairly good shape