Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Bullet Ride's 2.8L Stroker Project (Updated: Dyno Plot pg. 6)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Bullet Ride's 2.8L Stroker Project (Updated: Dyno Plot pg. 6)

Well, I've been chipping away at this project for a couple months now but felt as though I should start a thread to document the process (even though it's been done plenty of times already) and to give/receive advice. So here it goes...

First, the back story to the project...

The spark to attempt this build came back in 2010 when this happened...

In my hunt for a replacement oil pan I was able to get a whole M20B25 for $100 which is pretty much the going rate for a used oil pan.

So after I finished replacing the oil pan on my car I was left with the rest of the motor and a big question mark about what to do with it. I definitely wasn't going to scrap it. I could have kept it for spare parts or sold the rest of the parts and actually made some profit off of my foray into oil pan smashing but where's the fun in that?

I remembered reading about an M20 2.8L stroker that used a combination of OEM BMW parts, so I did a little bit of research and came across a few build threads (and a few more have popped up between then and now). The combination of parts required is as follows:
    - M20B25 cylinder head (885 casting), block and late model (short skirt) pistons... which I already had
    - M52B28 crankshaft
    - 130mm connecting rods from either the M20B20 or M20B27
    - crank spacer for front oil seal