E30 Vs E36 Intake Manifold

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

E30 Vs E36 Intake Manifold

Apologies ahead of time if this has been answered but I can't seem to find a definitive answer anywhere. Im looking to swap the M40 out of my E30 318i with the E36 318i M42 and I was wondering if the intake manifold from the E30 M42 is interchangeable with the E36 M42 manifold? Thank you ahead of time!

The E30 manifold should be able to bolt on as the lower intake gasket part number did not change during M42 production. Depending on which year E36 M42 you get there may be differences in sensor arrangement, and the oil pans are not the same between chassis.

Comment

So when swapping would I use the oil pan from the M42 or would I have to get one from a separate vehicle? This is my first project so forgive my ignorance!

Comment

Ideally you want an e30 DME and intake but you only need the e30 oilpan for it to work.

E36 oilpan won't work. Period.
        E36 intake is apparently tuned for better mid range whilst the e30 intake is tuned for top end.
        E36 DME will work but it makes the swap harder because wiring. Try tracking down an e30 DME to make your life easier.

I dropped in an e30 m42 into my 318i sedan in a weekend with no major hangups. Using an e36 motor could make it a lot harder.

Comment

If you have any questions as to parts just do a comparison between the E30 M42 and whatever year E36 you plan to get an engine from on a site like http://bmwfans.info/parts-catalog

I did forget that the M40 oil pan that you have might work as they share the lower end (which is what makes the swap easy), however I think there is some difference in the oil pick up.

There is also the question of engine management as brought up above, but the main differences between E30/E36 versions are that the later one has knock sensors and a better timing chain setup.

Comment