My Official "E30/M50 (+ S52) Improvement Effort Thread"

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

My Official "E30/M50 (+ S52) Improvement Effort Thread"

So I realize there are a ton of swap threads up here already, but I recently acquired a cool E30/M50 that was a great starting platform for creating an E30-based street car that pushed all the right buttons for me in terms of overall performance, simplicity, and driving enjoyment. For anyone interested, I thought I'd log my various projects and share my adventures with y'all.

A little back story... I just recently sold my E30/M52 GTS2 racecar that I had been campaigning and evolving for many years. A change in our financial situation forced me to take a temporary hiatus from racing, and I decided it would be better to sell the car for now than to let it sit and not be used. My wife, being perpetually-cool about this stuff, was supportive of the idea of me using a portion of the money from the racecar sale and purchasing my buddy's street E30. This would be a car that could share duties with my X5 as a daily driver and allow me to still enjoy an E30 on a regular basis.

The car already had a ton going for it, including an M50 swap with a really strong 2.5, headers, tune, custom Borla/UUC exhaust build, Ground Controls, Ronal 15"s, and a ton of other nice performance parts and aesthetic improvements...

I've made several smaller repairs and improvements so far which I will document in this thread, but the larger project I have going on right now is preparing to swap an S52 into the car with a simultaneous conversion to OBD2.

In the meantime, here are a few pics taken shortly after I bought it... I'll be adding some more project photos as soon as I convert them to a smaller filesize.

Last edited by RenaissanceMan; 10-21-2016, 09:21 PM.
    '90 325is/S52
    '76 2002
    '74 2002tii
    '06 325i sedan
    '05 X5 3.0i
    '86 Alfa Spider Veloce