Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

M106 (E23 745i) in E30

Hi all,

I'll probably be the owner of an 325i E30, with an M106 swap very soon.
    The M106 is basically a factory turbocharged M30.

The car has M20 wiring, M30 (535i) ECU, and (currently) tiny M20 injectors. The 745 ecu couldn't be used, as the engine has been converted from auto to manual, so the ECU didn't get a crankshaft signal. The gearboxes that have that sensor, are very rare, so the previous owner wanted to go another direction.

According to him, it needs bigger injectors and a map. He was planning on going standalone (kdfi, megasquirt based, apparently).
    Currently, you can only get the car to 2000 rpm, above that, it runs lean. He also has a wideband lambda. The bigger injectors of the 745 don't work, as they are low impedance injectors, and the ecu uses high impedance injectors.

I am very new to BMW's, and relatively new to tuning (did have an MX5 turbo, but also bought it). I'm not sure what would be the best way forward, and what I need.

I've been reading up on the Ostrich and the WAR chip. The Ostrich does look better, and is very cheap, but the WAR chip seems to be easier to get up and running. Or I could go KDFI/megasquirt/VEMS. But to be honest, I wouldn't even know where to take the car to get it tuned, as engine tuning is far from widespread here.

I am thinking about the Ostrich, figuring that if it doesn't work, I won't lose much money, and for that money, it's definitely worth a try, and it's pretty easy to install (the hardware side, that is). No other boards/chips/sensors/plugins needed, AFAIK.

The goal would be to run close to the max boost the engine can take on stock internals, which is quite high (low comp, forged pistons as standard). In numbers, I'm hoping to get it close to 500 hp.
    I am basing me on this 'guide': http://www.745i.avulan.eu/More/quickref.html

Any suggestions/ideas/tips?