Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

My 88' 318i | Underpowered Euro Content

Hello guys,

Some of you have seen me here already, i am mostly knows for the 5-lug kit i offer, but for those who haven't let me introduce :)

I'm Max, and im a student from Europe, Lithuania - i study car mechanics, currently it's my last year.
    I own a 1988 Diamond Black Metallic 318i with an M40B18 engine (83kW).
    It was a long story of how i got the car, but in the end result i was really happy, it's a one owner car straight from Germany with only 193000km on the odometer. The original owner was 1964 man if i am not mistaken.

The condition i got it in was pretty good, i mean there was some rust here and there, but nothing major.
    Here are a few pictures of how i got it:

http://i1153.photobucket.com/albums/...showbig331.jpg

When i got it, it already had some funky lowering springs and a fiberglass front valance. The valance was not bad - but i really loved the way it looked without it, so it had to go.

I do agree that i did some strange things with the car, look at which now i do regret about some of them. One of them would be these white LED angel eyes:

They looked good at the beginning. But then random LED's stared to burn out and it looked like crap..
    I actually swapped the for a set of RGB ones later..

After one night of our downtown roads i had the oil sump cracked:

Even thought there's a lot of M40 engined E30's here - i could not find a replacement pan, so had to weld that one. Cost me a fortune, but the guy sure did a good job, considering a big piece was missing..

Was waiting for summer so i could start working on it, here's a few pictures from that period:

But summer came and fixing began.

Friend helping:

Did drive like this for a while until i got the money to paint it:

Here's a photo after it got painted:

Oh, and here's another thing i don't really want to remember about - the rice N1 muffler:

Good old M40: