Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Won't Boost - Freshly Turbo'd 325IS (MS)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Won't Boost - Freshly Turbo'd 325IS (MS)

Hey Ya'll,

Long time lurker. I have been building a Turbo M20 for the last few months - first E30. I'm new to MS and I have a MSPNP2.

Issues: around 3500 rpm, under a light acceleration, right as I switch from vacuum to boost, the car hits kind of a rev limiter.

I'm already nervous enough boosting for the first time in this 25+ year old car.

Some background:

- I have a boost solenoid, currently hooked up, but not activated (therefore, I assume that it will run the rated wastegate pressure per spring).

- The manifold line goes to the boost solenoid, and then to the wastegate. The waste gate also receives a line from the manifold.

- I do not see anywhere (in .msq) that may indicate why my car hits a "soft" fuel cut..ms

I have attached the log file and .msq file. I'm a first time tuner and I'm making my way through it. Any tips/hints are welcomed, as well as constructive criticism.

Find files here: https://drive.google.com/open?id=0Bz...GlJNjQ0d0ZRZDA

If someone could tell me how to properly post files, that'd be awesome.

Thanks.
    M
    Last edited by mbhill92; 05-28-2016, 11:59 AM.

If there is any other information that ya'll need from me, just let me know. I'm still having this problem. Played around with some of the settings and still cannot seem to get it to rev past 3500rpms.

Comment

I remember hitting a brick wall around 3500-4000 and not being able to go into boost.
      My crank position sensor was loose and a bit away from the gear - was gravy after that.

I don't think the waste gate is playing a role here. If it's not opening, you should be able to boost to infinity and if it's stuck open, you should still be able to rev through RPM range regardless - you'll just get no positive pressure.