Exhaust manifold work

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Exhaust manifold work

I'm starting work on making the e38 manifolds fit. I've never done any exhaust work before, so this is yet another complicated adventure for me.

What size tubing is everyone using to mate with the e38 headers? They are double wall, so for space reasons, it seems best to match the OD of the inner pipe. From what I can tell, it seems like 2.5" would be best. Is anyone using 2-1/4"?

Is the best option to just order a couple 90* or 180* 16 gauge stainless mandrel bends, and start cutting and fitting? If so, what are some cheaper sources? Jegs/Summit seem priced awfully high for some of their stuff... Is there any difference from one brand to the next? Seems like they are all 304 stainless.

My space is even more limited then most as my engine is using the further forward mounting position, which cuts down on the space between the rack and the wide bell housing, in addition to using the e36 rack. It looks like it's going to be damn near impossible!
    85 325e m60b44 6 speed / 89 535i
    e30 restoration and V8 swap
    24 Hours of Lemons e30 build

Actually, after adding up how much this is going to cost, I don't think I want to go with stainless. Mild steel will be about a 1/4 of the cost. Thoughts? Will I be OK welding mild steel to the factory stainless pipe with MIG, using 75/25 gas? Should I use stainless wire?

So far my shopping cart is as follows:

2 x 2.50" Aluminized Steel, 3.75" Radius, 90 Degree Mandrel Bend
    2 x 2.50" Aluminized Steel, 3.75" Radius, 45 Degree Mandrel Bend
    4 x 2.50" Mild 2 Bolt Universal Exhaust Flange
    2 x O2 Bung - Mild Steel
    8 x 2.50" OD, 16 Gauge, Mild Steel Straight Tube, 12"

$138.46 (From Columbia River Mandrel Bending)

I think that would be enough to get me towards the back of the car at least, then I can figure out muffler packaging later.

Comment

Maybe buy partial cut scraps from a local manifold builder?

Comment