S52 cams in an S50 head?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

S52 cams in an S50 head?

I've seen some conflicting info on this swap, most say the swap must include the cam trays from the S52, others swear that the S52 cam will "fit" in the M/S50 cam trays with no modifications.

Is there a definitive answer (preferrably from someone who has done it) that the S52's will fit in the M/S50 head/tray combo.

S52 cams are a lot easier to find...

Ed
    1988 E30/S50...now with S52; Track
    1994 Miata R; ES Solo2
    1998 Lexus LX470; Wife (Slee'd anyway)
    2002 BMW 530i; A+ Commuter
    2002 BMW 325iT; Sport/Premium 5-speed
    2011 21' EconoTrailer

Hell, if you can't get the S52 cam trays get the M52 cam trays.
    My 2.9L Build!

Originally posted by Ernest Hemingway
    There are only three sports: bullfighting, motor racing, and mountaineering; all the rest are merely games.

Comment

I'm not an expert and I haven't done it myself...

But aren't the s50 cams more "aggressive" than the s52 cams?

Is the only reason you want s52 cams because they're cheaper?

~Zar4

Comment

S52 cams and the S50 cams are equal as far as specifications and type (hollow, etc)

I believe the difference is the S52's are counterweighed and the S50's are not, so there possible clearance issues using S52's in S50 trays.

The questions is "is there a real clearance issue, or is this an unfounded but often passed down myth?"

Ed

S52 cams are more available b/c there are alot more of them floating around than the 95 only S50.
        1994 Miata R; ES Solo2
        2011 21' EconoTrailer

Comment

I've got s50 cams in my m52.

that doesn't really help you though

Comment

hmm, i wonder why they added counterweights on s52..

The lack of those may be a reason why people find scored to shit cams when they open up their s50s

Comment

Why would you want to put S52 cams in an S50?
              '90 325i SterlingSilver/Black 5spd
              '94 325is #94 IP

Comment