Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Finished Lukebox Install (Review & How To)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Finished Lukebox Install (Review & How To)

Well, finally got around to finishing the Lukebox install in my wife's 87 325 DD'er. Sorry for the long read. Trying to help out with a semi-diy.

CAUTION: If you plan on running rear seats without armrest, DO NOT under any circumstances listen to the box/sub before putting everything back in. You will hate yourself, and possibly the setup, until you get a rear seat with armrest. At least, I know I do.

Having said that, I am a semi-pro installer and was really looking forward to hearing Luke's box. Before buying this box I built a rear-firing sealed enclosure that sounded decent. A little muddy, but not bad. My major beef with this setup was the SERIOUS amount of trunk rattle. I am so used to my 91 318is with a sealed enclosure that fires forward through holes in the rear seat and is sealed to the cabin that I am used to pretty accurate bass and zero trunk rattle.

So that's the background. Here is the relevant equipment:

12" Lukebox ported through rear deck
    12" RE Audio Rex12d4 @ 2ohms
    POS Sony 800w peak (yah right) XM-1252GTR 170w RMS @ 2ohms
    Kenwood KDC-X889 Excelon MP3 Receiver

First impressions upon receiving. Quality is top notch. This just made me more anxious to hear it. Luke also includes carpet and a beauty board template which is very nice for the non-installers that purchase. I did not test the template as I did not use it, but judging from the rest of the work, it would have been great. I did not use the carpet either as I buy big rolls (250ft) of black and grey from a local supplier. This is a VERY good kit to buy for the DIY'er, no having to hunt down anything or make templates.

Installation: