Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

E28 Race Car Project Begins

Hi all,

I've just begun the long process known as my senior year engineering project. I am currently a high school student with big ambitions: I am going to build a car. Taking the front and rear subframes, engine, transmission, final drive, wheels, brakes, and steering from an e28 535i, I am going to build a custom tubeframe from scratch to mount to the subframes. If I do it well, I should end up with a race car. It's taken months to get this rolling (and I'm currently only a Junior), but I have finally gotten the project approved. Nothing like this has ever been done at the high school (we dont even have an autoshop!) and so I will be paving a new path. I just bought the donor car yesterday, May 29th, an '85 535i that was hit on the side and has been sitting for years but miraculously still has perfect internals (I even heard it running before I bought it). In addition to the side damage, the car has a pretty useless interior, although some parts are still in decent condition, making it the prime candidate for the project. Actually, it still looks good enough that I had second thoughts about gutting it! anyway, as an added bonus it's got genuine 16" 3 piece BBS RS, eibach pro race springs, bilstein and koni shocks (I forget which are in the front and rear), and upgraded sways, as well as a complete head rebuild just 40,000 miles ago. All this for $625, and I am a happy camper. If anyone on here has interest in the development of this project, let me know and I would be happy to provide updates.

Spence

Very interested. Post your cad drawings pls? Id love to lend a hand. Are you trying to make something similar to a formula sae car? You cant post something like this without giving us more details! :grin:
    Originally posted by teamdynasty43