R3VLimited Forums  

Go Back   R3VLimited Forums > E30 Technical Forums > Appearance & Cosmetic > Interior

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-02-2011, 04:25 PM   #1
bubbajan21
E30 Mastermind
 
bubbajan21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,926
Is this what my rear defroster switch is supposed to look like?

Ever since I got my car, one of the things that has bothered me the most is that when the lights are on, the rear defroster switch is lit up like crazy. Is the foglight switch supposed to be as bright when it is off as it is when it is on? It seems like it should be a dim yellow when it is off, and when it is on it should be a bright yellow. Maybe it's just how all E30's are, but if that's the case, I'm definitely going to need to find a way to make it dimmer. Also, when the car is off but the lights are on, the defroster switch is bright yellow, but when I turn the rear defroster on (with the car still off), the light goes out completely. Here are a few pics. Is this just how E30's are, or is there something wrong with my wiring / switch.

Car on, rear defroster off:

Car on, rear defroster on:

Car off, rear defroster off:

Car off, rear defroster on:
bubbajan21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 04:29 PM   #2
Chaz
E30 Addict
 
Chaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: IOWAAAAA
Posts: 432
Mine lights up when I turn on the lights also. To make it dimmer just turn the knob that you use to turn on the lights and it will make all of the dash lights brighter/dimmer. I'm pretty sure that's just the way they are.
Chaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 04:34 PM   #3
bubbajan21
E30 Mastermind
 
bubbajan21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,926
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chaz View Post
Mine lights up when I turn on the lights also. To make it dimmer just turn the knob that you use to turn on the lights and it will make all of the dash lights brighter/dimmer. I'm pretty sure that's just the way they are.
Does yours get brighter when you turn on the rear defroster or does it stay the same?
bubbajan21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 08:15 PM   #4
Chaz
E30 Addict
 
Chaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: IOWAAAAA
Posts: 432
If you are talking about the switch while the lights are on, then no. The switch stays the same brightness off or on.
Chaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 08:28 PM   #5
NC318e30
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 170
While someone has this posted.... is there anyway to make it light up only when it's on(pushed in)??? it's just stupid bright and not the same orange for it to be on all the time. Currently I have both of my defroster and hazard switch unplugged
NC318e30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 08:35 PM   #6
Shanes325
Advanced Member
 
Shanes325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Liberty sc
Posts: 157
Why not just take the light out of the switch so your defrost and hazzards work? It's getting cool out ur goin to need your defrost to work.
Shanes325 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 05:12 AM   #7
vpilarrt
E30 Mastermind
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 1,520
Quote:
is there anyway to make it light up only when it's on(pushed in)???
From looking at the schematic (and I'm a mechanical engineer, not an electrical) I believe if you unhook the brown/white wire from the back of the switch the light will only glow when the swicth is closed (defroster on).

Someone want to try it?
vpilarrt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 06:13 PM   #8
NC318e30
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 170
I took the bulb out of my hazards and now it doesn't work at all so I'll have to try my spare hazard switch and take out the brown and white wire
NC318e30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 06:16 PM   #9
bubbajan21
E30 Mastermind
 
bubbajan21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,926
Has anybody been brave enough to cut the wires and see if the light is only on when the defroster is on, yet the defroster is still functional? Maybe if someone is parting out an E30, they can cut the wires and see what happens?
bubbajan21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 01:01 PM   #10
ParsedOut
E30 Enthusiast
 
ParsedOut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,087
Spray it with model tint (or nightshades) then do a coat of duplicolor clear. Should tone it down...
__________________
90 E32ILM30B35
It's white with a lot of leg room...
ParsedOut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 01:47 PM   #11
gp.plus
E30 Addict
 
gp.plus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: philly
Posts: 416
Just snipped brown/ white, works like a charm, no light on switch till its activated. This always bothered me as well.. Thanks
gp.plus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 01:57 PM   #12
akorcovelos
E30 Enthusiast
 
akorcovelos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Chicagoland area
Posts: 1,074
Must be an early model thing, mine only lights up when the switch is closed (on).
__________________

2012 MCSCC/NSSCC CP class champ
HSAX Instructor
akorcovelos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 07:20 PM   #13
NC318e30
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 170
Mines a late model so maybe someone already did you the favor? Looks like I'll be plugging mine back in and snipping the brown/white wire!
NC318e30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 07:30 PM   #14
bubbajan21
E30 Mastermind
 
bubbajan21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,926
Quote:
Originally Posted by gp.plus View Post
Just snipped brown/ white, works like a charm, no light on switch till its activated. This always bothered me as well.. Thanks
I'm glad to hear it works, but I'm wondering if the little prong on the switch can be removed instead of cutting the wire. I don't know why I or anyone else would ever want that annoying light back on, but I would still like to have the ability to just by swapping out the switch. I think I'll try that on a spare switch I have and see if the same thing happens. I don't see any reason why it wouldn't.
bubbajan21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 07:52 PM   #15
gp.plus
E30 Addict
 
gp.plus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: philly
Posts: 416
Yea, I don't really condone cutting a harness, but mine was hacked by the po pretty bad already.
gp.plus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004 - 2013 R3VLimited LLC