Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Engine ID help (new guy assistance)

Hello all,

Backstory: I purchased a 1989 325i a few weeks ago. I have loved the style of e30's for years now, and finally had the opportunity to pick one up. The seller claimed that the original engine gave out about 25,000 miles ago and he had another one put in.

So now i'm trying to ID the engine. I don't really know much about e30's yet, but hope to quickly learn all I can! I have some experience working on BMWs - mainly working on a friends 330iZHP and now his e46 M3. But of course those are different animals in complexity!
    Anyway the reason I'm doubtful that it is an "i" engine is because of the valve cover, which I've been identifying as the cover usually on ETA engines! Also, it doesn't have the T-Style ICV which I understand should be on 1989 325i's. As I've never driven an e30 before, and my usual daily driver is *a bit* faster, I cannot make my decision based on power felt by the butt-dyno.

Attached are some pictures from the top of the engine bay. I'm not sure if there are any engine codes or numbers that are stamped anywhere on the engine to identify it certainly, so I thought i'd start here with pictures:

From Passenger side:

From Driver Side:

From windshield above the brake booster:

From Passenger side, looking at front of engine:

Any help and input would be appreciated! And thank you!

That looks to me to be an M20B27 engine. The valve cover, intake, and sensor in the thermostat housing are consistent with it being an M20B27.
    The car makes it possible, but the driver makes it happen.
    Jim Levie, Huntsville, AL

Comment

Originally posted by jlevie View Post
      That looks to me to be an M20B27 engine. The valve cover, intake, and sensor in the thermostat housing are consistent with it being an M20B27.
      this.

whats the last 7 of the vin?
      sigpic