Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Just Got a 318is - What to do with suspension?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Just Got a 318is - What to do with suspension?

Hey all, I just got my first E30, a 318is. I'm loving it so far, but she needs a refresh. I think I'm going to do Bilsteins shocks and H&R springs, which sounds like the consensus for a good DD setup. I also wanted to refresh all the bushings and the control arms. Thing is, I'm pretty new to wrenching. I've helped friends here and there, but I don't really know how to plan a build so I'm looking for some help just to make sure I'm kinda doing the right thing.

So here's what I'm looking at (I haven't looked for cheaper prices yet, just made a list):

***For the refresh kit, I have some questions.

1. Does this kit contain everything I need to refresh all of the suspension parts? I think it's just for the front. Is there a kit available for the rear as well?
    2. Is rubber the way to go, or should I do polyurethane bushings? I'm building a car for handling, so I think poly might be the way to go. However, will that make highway driving annoying? I don't mind a bit of NVH if it gives good feedback, but if it's just harsh, I'd rather pass. I will be using this car on the highway for longer drives semi-regularly.

Am I missing anything? Could the strut/shock mounts be replaced now as well (if I'm planning a full refresh eventually)?

I want to swap the steering rack eventually to something faster - would it make sense to do it now since I'm already going to take apart the suspension, or will I be able to bolt it in later?

Finally, are other things like sway bar/strut bar/subframe reinforcements worth for weekend canyons and the occasional autocross?

Apologies for the long post, I'd really appreciate some advice.

Congrats on the car!

To answer your questions: