Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Bottlecap Tire Options

Hey folks,

I'm looking to keep my ride stock and put some new tires on my bottlecaps. So that means I'm looking for a 195/65/14 tire (which they don't make a bunch of anymore, of course).

I've looked around Discount Tire (Local + Direct), Pepboys, Tire Rack, and SimpleTire and it looks like these are my only options:
    Uniroyal Tiger Paw AWP II
    Falken Ziex ZE329
    Federal SS657

I'm looking for a good DD tire. Wet traction is very important. I won't ever be driving on snow or ice.

Falken + Federal are H-rated, Uniroyal is S or T (can't find exact rating).

Any suggestions? Are there other worthwhile models I might be missing?
    current:
    89 325i

previous:
    87 325i
    86 325 stroker frankenstein

I’m far from an expert on the subject, but I’ve gone through two sets of Falken Zeix (although in a different size) on my e30 and they were fine for DD use. Even with rear camber wear I got around 35k miles out of each set.

Comment

Speed ratings are the recommended limit for sustained high speed driving so even with H rated tire, especially on bottle caps, they are fine for a DD. I look at the rating but I buy tires but seriously, who cares if it's rated for 100 or 130mph
      Seat Shocks....I have passed the baton to John Christy from Ninestitch. Email John or Garrett at ninestitch1@gmail.com

https://www.r3vlimited.com/board/sho...86#post4944786
      Alice the Time Capsule
      http://www.r3vlimited.com/board/showthread.php?t=360504
      87 Zinno Cabrio barn find 98k and still smells like a barn. Build thread http://www.r3vlimited.com/board/show...20#post3455220

Comment

I have tiger paw in stocm size on the four door with bottle caps. They work great for a daily. And look good on satin black.

Comment

Originally posted by jeffnhiscars View Post