R3VLimited Forums

Go Back   R3VLimited Forums > E30 Technical Forums > General Technical

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-11-2019, 02:13 PM   #1
LateFan
No R3VLimiter
 
LateFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: North American Continent
Posts: 3,966
Fuel gauge unreliable ('86 eta)

My son ran out of gas 200 miles from home - managed to coast it off the highway and got to a station. Just shut off on the freeway - no stumble or bucking. Just spun the starter trying to start again, no kick, no sputtering.

The gauge has always been so-so, inconsistent. Don't know if this is in the cluster or the sender in the tank.

The 2 gal warning light never came on. Maybe the sender never told it it was low?

He put 12.3 gal in it. It's supposed to hold 14.2 ('86 eta). Those 12.3 gallons got him 300 miles.

We've replaced the full pump, fuel pressure regulator (eta), hoses, filter. It had good fuel pressure last we checked. We did not replace the float or sender.

What should we check?
LateFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 03:48 PM   #2
Gregs///M
Forum Sponsor
 
Gregs///M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: East SF Bay Area
Posts: 2,228
Try to tighten the 7mm nut behind the gauge, its responsible for grounding the gauge. If the ground is weak, the gauge will read high.

Also, its very common for previous owners to swap out the cluster or cluster parts. Its possible you have the incorrect fuel gauge for the car. You can open the cluster and look up the part number and cross reference with the correct gauge thats supposed to be in the car.

Senders do fail too, its worth it to pull it out, clean it up or replace it. The light should have came on, if the bulb is good, so that may point to a failing sender.
__________________
Owner - Bavarian Restoration
BMW and European Electronics Repair and Restoration
www.BavRest.com
My Feedback Thread
Our Facebook!
Follow our Instagram!
Gregs///M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 08:53 PM   #3
LateFan
No R3VLimiter
 
LateFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: North American Continent
Posts: 3,966
Oh, the grounding nut, that's right. We'll check that, thanks.

I believe we bought one of your rebuilt si boards a while back, and yes it's a replacement cluster because I shorted out his old one fussing with it. I found a good used one here.
LateFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2004 - 2020 R3VLimited LLC