So I just got laid off...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

So I just got laid off...

So yesterday my boss and I had lunch and discussed whatI feared was inevitable...my job getting laid off. I work in the bicycle industry as the warehouse manager for a smaller BMX company. The whole industry took a nosedive in the last year or so and have been worrying about my job for a bit.

Last monday I was running some errands with my boss and casually mentioned I was itching to possibly move out of state, across the country...somehwhere new at some point in the future. He pretty quickly asked if it would help if I were to opt to be laid off, if it would give me a solid nudge to do it. I said possibly and we talked a bit more, just tossing around ideas of where I was thinking about. I kept thinking about the way he brought up the lay off thing so I asked if we could grab lunch and talk about it. Basically as I feared, there is simply not enough work in any sort of consistency to justify the cost of keeping me around. He was actually realived I brought it up because he was trying to find an easy way to bring it up to me. We're a tight crew of close friends so while it is just business, there is no easy way to let people go you care about. I wasn't mad, I mean I basically saw this coming and the great thing about my job is even though he's my boss, he's also a very good friend of mine. He gave me an additional month of pay and is keeping me on insurance for the month aswell but the kicker was that after talking about wanting to move. He offered me a round trip plane ticket anywhere in the country I'd like to check out to move to. I'm seriously going to miss working for and with these guys but shit happens and sometimes the cards don't fall the way you expected them to but I've been given a nice opportunity here.