Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Cannot Get Good Steering Feel -is it the rack?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Cannot Get Good Steering Feel -is it the rack?

I am completely new to the BMW world, coming from Hondas previously. Now I just got a 1984 320, with loads of engine mods, and am working on a couple other things to make the rest better. However, the great steering feel BMWs are known for continues to elude me. After buying the car, I changed the steering rack (with a used unit), because the first one had a great deal of slop and dead zone in the center.

Now this new rack is a touch tighter, but also has a dead zone in the center and a semi-dead zone around the center. The funny thing is that the 2 mechanics I showed the car to are not alarmed by this nearly as much as I am.
    First the "sneeze zone" (where, by design, nothing is supposed to happen) around the center in each direction, is large. Then for another several centimeters in either direction, the wheels do turn but not very much. The car has unassisted, "dry" type steering, and you can definitively feel this when you try to start turning the wheel while the vehicle is stationary. For the few centimeters in either direction, you can turn the wheel very easily, then for another few centimeters, it is harder, then it gets harder still. It is as if the car had an exaggerated variable steering ratio to make tight turns easier. What I am used to seeing is the steering effort peaking right after the dead zone is passed and staying at this peak throughout the entire range of motion.
    Due to the issues described above, the car feels laaaazy and truck like.