M54 Madness, the remix

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

M54 Madness, the remix

Or the sequel, part 2, etc. We finally learn who Luke's father is...

Anyway, I've been running the same M54 since the end of 2008 and it's been a great success. I've changed configuration on dozens of things, made lots of trips to the dyno and learned everything I would need for the second M54 swap.

So, I picked-up a 85k mile motor out of a wrecked cream-puff e39 this weekend. It'll be easier to start with this motor than to pull my existing one and have the car down all year.

The plan includes:

-ArcAsylum subframe and notched oil pan. The e34 pan has always bugged me hanging out front.

-Megasquirt wiring from the git-go. I've got a mashup of M50, M54 and "other" wiring harnesses

-M50 intake manifold. The head will be port matched to the larger intake diameter.

-ArcAsylum headers??

Dyno data from a similar setup demonstrates 250whp.
    Attached Files
    Last edited by hoveringuy; 04-14-2014, 12:51 PM.

you need a seriously well ported head man, i hope it is on your list of to do? in all likely a set of custom cams to match the new found characteristics will do wonders. this is where you will find power IMO. then you could probably nudge closer to 300
    89 E30 325is Lachs Silber - currently M20B31, M20B33 in the works, stroked to the hilt...

new build thread http://www.r3vlimited.com/board/showthread.php?t=317505

Comment

Excited to see this!

Comment

I'm in for results as well. I've been reading up on m54's lately.

Comment

Very nice. Not worrying about the low hanging front pan will be nice!

Does anyone make a set of nice cams for M54. I cant recall if you have the ZHPs but a proper set of cams will help heaps.

Rewiring the car will be nice. When I installed my VEMS system I removed everything I didnt need from the factory harness (and added some extra wires for new sensors). It looks really clean, and there is no crazy splicing to cause headaches.