Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Knowledge/ special tools

Hello,

I have been looking through youtube videos, forum chats, and anything on the damn web for walkthroughs on swapping my 318i engine with a M50. However, there is a lot of stuff in them I simply dont know (I'm not experienced at all at this). So my question is, if I'm not experienced and are only going off guides/ videos/ walkthrough, how much time/money/ frustration am I going to get from this? Because it seems like it is very much worth it, and I feel like if I do it once I can do it again and again.

Thanks,
    85% of the time i have no idea what I'm doing

I had a moderate level of mechanical experience when I did mine, although I was using my good friends shop and often called on his knowledge being a master mechanic. That being said, it's fairly straight forward, all the info you need is readily available on these forums and just about every issue has been covered at some point. Time/money and frustration are going to be very dependent on your situation.

If you have everything on the new engine ready to go and every part you need, it's doable in a weekend...mine took 3 months of weekend work personally till it was done. I had some trouble shooting issues that took some time to work out.