R3VLimited Forums

Go Back   R3VLimited Forums > E30 Technical Forums > M3 Technical & Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-22-2015, 01:38 PM   #31
reelizmpro
R3V OG
 
reelizmpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: LA-SoCal
Posts: 8,405
There is no MAF sensor with Alpha N. Two different approaches.
__________________
"I'd probably take the E30 M3 in this case just because I love that little car, and how tanky that inline 6 is." - thecj

85 323i M TECH 1 - ALPINEWEISS/SCHWARZE
88 M3 - LACHSSILBER/SCHWARZE
89 M3 - ALPINEWEISS II/M TECH CLOTH-ALCANTARA
89 M3 S52 - SEPANG BRONZE/SCHWARZE
91 M TECHNIC TURBO - MACAOBLAU/M TECH CLOTH-LEATHER
reelizmpro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2015, 04:30 PM   #32
brody
Grease Monkey
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: BC
Posts: 334
So we have been sending out the Alpha N systems like crazy. We have tuned a bunch in person and the last two I have graphs for are both for 2.3

Jason Spore:

207 WHP / 172 WTQ (DynoJet)

Stock Balanced S14B23
Miller Alpha N System
Carbon Air box with 15cm runners
Stock Cams
Stock throttle bodies
BMW Rally header
VSR exhaust (w/ catalytic converters) with Stromung muffler




Sam Yang:

196 WHP / 157 WTQ (Mustang)

Stock S14B23
Miller Alpha N System
CF Air Box with 48mm Runners
Schrick 284/276 Cams
BMW EvoII/Rally Headers
VSR Center Section
Stromung Rear Section



Have more graphs being sent in but the kit is proving itself quite nicely.

Last edited by brody; 09-22-2015 at 12:36 PM. Reason: Details added for Sam Yangs engine.
brody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2015, 07:17 AM   #33
mach schnell
E30 Modder
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: CO
Posts: 831
What can you do for out of state buyers who need initial setup/tuning?
mach schnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2015, 01:16 PM   #34
brody
Grease Monkey
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: BC
Posts: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by mach schnell View Post
What can you do for out of state buyers who need initial setup/tuning?
All of the cars have been pretty darn close right out of the box. All have definitely been drivable too. The beauty of the WAR Chip is that we can send you revisions over email with a little info from you first. A dyno run is great, but AFR and RPM is fine for the most part.

You can dial it in yourself too, again, the beauty of the WAR Chip is that it allows you the freedom to do what you want with the tune, but also allows us to help you remotely.
brody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2016, 09:18 AM   #35
brody
Grease Monkey
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: BC
Posts: 334
I am not sure if this link will work. If not, just head over to our facebook page to check it out.

Vites (Bobb) recently installed our Alpha N system on his crazy build. 12.5:1 compression e85 specific build with 750cc injectors and the rest of the works! Sounds amazing and we can't wait for him to return home to get us more footage and a dyno!

https://www.facebook.com/vites.vongh...8242140539784/
brody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2016, 08:05 PM   #36
Massive Lee
R3V OG
 
Massive Lee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Montreal
Posts: 6,435
Quote:
Originally Posted by brody View Post
No wideband control with the stock ECU. We haven't found it to be necessary with proper calibrations thus far.
This surprises me. Esopecially in 2016. With old technology such as a narrowband sensor, the only precise reading and tune you will get in closed loop is 14.7 to 1 air/fuel ratio. The narrowband sensor is nothing more than a binary switch. Rich (whatever the ratio) - Stochio - Lean (whatever the ratio). The reason is that the metal on that sensor only "reacts" when a 14.7 to 1 air/fuel ratio is reached. Above and below, it becomes "numb".

If a wideband sensor was used, you could determine precisely target fuel ratios in closed loop. And you could even "correct" the signal and force the DME into thinking is is leaner, which will force the DME into richening the mixture when in closed loop.

Those of you who want to alter the narrowband 02 sensor signal and fool the DME into thinking that stochio is leaner than it really is, and force the DME to richen the mixture, you could look into a motorcycle product called AFXied. Works great on my two BMW bikes using narrowband sensor. And it is adjustable. 8 levels of correction.

http://sales.nightrider.com/BMW_upgrades.html
__________________
Brake harder. Go faster. No shit.

massivebrakes.com

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Massiv...78417442267056





Massive Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2016, 03:31 PM   #37
E30_Dave
Noobie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Southampton
Posts: 30
Hi Brody,

Have you done any S14 B20 engines yet ?... I'd certainly consider doing your Alpha-N conversion on my E30 320is.
E30_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2016, 10:44 AM   #38
clarkson
Advanced Member
 
clarkson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 183
Brody, I am considering your alpha n kit for my 2.5 s14 build. I am located in Vancouver BC.

What might make my mind up is if you can dyno tune my car once it is up and running in the lower mainlaind area.

I have run your war chip on my stroker m20 and it was good value for money.
__________________
Doing all the decades:
2000 M5
1990 325i Touring
1984 318i Coupe (S14 swap)
1976 2002
clarkson is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 08:24 AM   #39
mach schnell
E30 Modder
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: CO
Posts: 831
Brody, since it sounds like it is a big sticking point for a lot of people, what would it take for you to add wideband control / closed loop to your Alpha N setup?

Could you offer it as an option to your kit?

You’ve been arguing that it’s not necessary, but ultimately, a lot of potential customers want it.

So why not add it and be done with that argument?

I know I would LOVE to have a setup that is more plug ‘n’ play than the MAXX. I bought a brand new MAXX setup a while back but never installed it because I don’t want to go pulling pins out of my ECU plug or splicing into my engine harness.

I want it to be as plug ‘n’ play as possible. If MAXX’s was plug ‘n’ play, I would have bought and installed it a long time ago.
mach schnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2004 - 2020 R3VLimited LLC