R3VLimited Forums

Go Back   R3VLimited Forums > E30 Technical Forums > Car Audio & Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-22-2013, 08:39 PM   #16
Skunkworks
E30 Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Highland, Ca.
Posts: 436
E30 cars are 5.25" speakers. Boston and Infiniti are always a good bet.
Skunkworks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 09:43 AM   #17
StereoInstaller1
GAS
 
StereoInstaller1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Centralia, WA
Posts: 22,679
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pdxseth View Post
What speakers would you recommend I need to buy 6's for the e30 soon
First, why 6", second, what is the rest of the system?
__________________

Closing SOON!
"LAST CHANCE FOR G.A.S." DEAL IS ON NOW

Luke AT germanaudiospecialties DOT com or text 425-761-6450, or for quickest answers, call me at the shop 360-669-0398

Thanks for 10 years of fun!
StereoInstaller1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 01:09 PM   #18
Pdxseth
No R3VLimiter
 
Pdxseth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Portland
Posts: 3,123
The rest of the system was all alpine but I put it all in my e28 so now I just have an alpine deck. I'm not sure what amps or speakers to buy, I just thought they were 6's. I'm thinking the Boston accustics look pretty good I've always heard good things about them. I like my alpine amps but maybe you could suggest something better I want a really loud quality sounding system
__________________
Pdxseth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 01:54 PM   #19
StereoInstaller1
GAS
 
StereoInstaller1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Centralia, WA
Posts: 22,679
What is your budget? The amp in my E34 is pretty wicked, and you can find it as cheap as $500 online
__________________

Closing SOON!
"LAST CHANCE FOR G.A.S." DEAL IS ON NOW

Luke AT germanaudiospecialties DOT com or text 425-761-6450, or for quickest answers, call me at the shop 360-669-0398

Thanks for 10 years of fun!
StereoInstaller1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 02:28 PM   #20
Pdxseth
No R3VLimiter
 
Pdxseth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Portland
Posts: 3,123
I'm willing to drop a good amount of money to make the car nice it just takes a while lol 500 is about what I spent on both the alpines ones mono and ones stereo if I can get an all in one amp that would be preferred
__________________
Pdxseth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 06:26 PM   #21
StereoInstaller1
GAS
 
StereoInstaller1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Centralia, WA
Posts: 22,679
I will take this beast of a Soundstream over anything I have ever heard under $1K
__________________

Closing SOON!
"LAST CHANCE FOR G.A.S." DEAL IS ON NOW

Luke AT germanaudiospecialties DOT com or text 425-761-6450, or for quickest answers, call me at the shop 360-669-0398

Thanks for 10 years of fun!
StereoInstaller1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 09:02 PM   #22
aaron325ix
E30 Fanatic
 
aaron325ix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Leadville, Co
Posts: 1,471
Luke, this is a well written clear and easy way to make your system sound great. Two guys I work with insisted I print it out for them so they could go tweak their system properly instead of just guessing. thanks again, and this should definitely be a sticky.

one question though. when starting this procedure you said to set your deck to "flat". Would you not want to set it to "user"?
__________________
aaron325ix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 02:53 PM   #23
StereoInstaller1
GAS
 
StereoInstaller1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Centralia, WA
Posts: 22,679
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaron325ix View Post
Luke, this is a well written clear and easy way to make your system sound great. Two guys I work with insisted I print it out for them so they could go tweak their system properly instead of just guessing. thanks again, and this should definitely be a sticky.

one question though. when starting this procedure you said to set your deck to "flat". Would you not want to set it to "user"?
First, thanks for the kind words! Did your buddies like their systems better after? For those that have never seen me write, it takes a hell of a bunch of effort, it feels really nice to know it makes a difference to people.

So, why "Flat"...well, basically, as long as there is no boost or cut applied to the signal, there is no difference. As long as everything in the EQ or tone controls is zero, it should be all good.

Basically, if you are boosting a frequency anywhere near the crossover point, the speaker will distort sooner, and you will tune incorrectly, and lose performance.
__________________

Closing SOON!
"LAST CHANCE FOR G.A.S." DEAL IS ON NOW

Luke AT germanaudiospecialties DOT com or text 425-761-6450, or for quickest answers, call me at the shop 360-669-0398

Thanks for 10 years of fun!
StereoInstaller1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2013, 12:11 PM   #24
vpilarrt
R3VLimited
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 2,091
Am I missing something? In 2c you have the deck turned up to max. In 2d you say that the deck volume is now at the "reference" point. I don't see where you turn down the deck volume and how you determine the "reference" point.
vpilarrt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 08:51 AM   #25
P Arkus
Grease Monkey
 
P Arkus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 325
Quote:
Originally Posted by vpilarrt View Post
Am I missing something? In 2c you have the deck turned up to max. In 2d you say that the deck volume is now at the "reference" point. I don't see where you turn down the deck volume and how you determine the "reference" point.
x2. I would also like to get some clarification to this. Seems like an amazing write up, will have to try it out next time i'm tuning a system!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by 36brua View Post
Isn't that what these forums are all about making stuff easier... OO no never mind this is r3v...
Patryk
Instagram: @parkus08

91 BMW 325is ///M-Tech II
08 VW .:R32
04 Audi A4 Avant 1.8TQ
P Arkus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 04:35 PM   #26
AbsorbantNut
Non faccio funzionare questa merda
 
AbsorbantNut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 2,491
Did this yesterday and now my stereo sounds even better! Thanks Luke for helping out the community
__________________


'73 2002 m20 turbo [sold] '87 rat rod 325is [couch modded] '91 vert [daily] '88 325is [spec build v1] '84 325 [spec build v2] '99 323i vert [sold]
AbsorbantNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 06:35 PM   #27
jottati
Noobie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: California
Posts: 2
Did this today, now my e30 sounds as good as my e90 with premium sound!
jottati is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2014, 11:52 PM   #28
StereoInstaller1
GAS
 
StereoInstaller1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Centralia, WA
Posts: 22,679
Quote:
Originally Posted by AbsorbantNut View Post
Did this yesterday and now my stereo sounds even better! Thanks Luke for helping out the community
You are so welcome! Glad to hear it helped, thats why I wrote this mess!
Quote:
Originally Posted by jottati View Post
Did this today, now my e30 sounds as good as my e90 with premium sound!
Wait...what? If you have one of our boxes and a 5 channel amp, your E30 should destroy an E9X Premium system.

Glad to hear it helped!

Luke
__________________

Closing SOON!
"LAST CHANCE FOR G.A.S." DEAL IS ON NOW

Luke AT germanaudiospecialties DOT com or text 425-761-6450, or for quickest answers, call me at the shop 360-669-0398

Thanks for 10 years of fun!
StereoInstaller1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2014, 09:18 AM   #29
325ix
R3V OG
 
325ix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 7,783
I'm still working at tuning my system. The one thing that still is odd to me is that even with the gains all the way down, I still get sound, and not just faint sound. It is able to play music quite loud on no gain, but it does sound terrible. Do I have my deck amp on still?
325ix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2014, 02:40 PM   #30
Rmlr
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Chicago
Posts: 62
Reference Volume

Luke Can you shed some light on this? I am a bit confused as well

Quote:
Originally Posted by vpilarrt View Post
Am I missing something? In 2c you have the deck turned up to max. In 2d you say that the deck volume is now at the "reference" point. I don't see where you turn down the deck volume and how you determine the "reference" point.
Rmlr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2004 - 2020 R3VLimited LLC