Synthetic Oil OK in M42?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Synthetic Oil OK in M42?

I have owned a '92 318i vert since 1999, and religiously used conventional oil in its M42 engine until a certain BMW parts warehouse advised that Red Line synthetic 15W50 would be a better alternative. I have been using it for several years with no problems, but my BMW-certified mechanic advised against it. Now I'm both confused and concerned, given his adamant response, and that he used to build E30s in the late 80s/early 90s. So...before I start draining oil and switching back to conventional, I was just curious if anyone here could provide some advice and/or experience on the issue. Many thanks!

You're fine running 15w-50. I run mobile 1 15w-50 all year round.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
    '91 318i (Alpine) - daily
    '88 325ix (Zinno) - drive here and there!

Comment

Ask your "bmw-certified mechanic" for some good scientific reasons for his advise.

Comment

Thanks, Fresh...but not worried about the oil weight. Mechanic was more concerned about the fact that it is synthetic, and the engine wasn't designed for synthetic oil.

Comment

The question is not weather the engine was "designed for Synthetic". The question is weather synthetic is an acceptable substitute for mineral based oil. The answer is i'd almost guarantee anyone who is going to post here is not going to have enough scientific data to back up the question either way.

About the only actual data available is that old engines like extra zinc, but the m42 is shim under/over bucket valves, so i'm not sure if the zinc requirement is that important.

I use mineral oil in my old engines, purely because synthetic is too bloody expensive.

Comment

Agree about the $$$, which is another reason I may go back to conventional. As you mentioned, I would never expect to see scientific data here, but was just curious what our members may have seen/experienced with synthetic oils in this engine.