R3VLimited Forums

Go Back   R3VLimited Forums > E30 Technical Forums > E30 FAQ and DIY

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-21-2012, 10:41 PM   #46
u3b3rg33k
R3VLimited
 
u3b3rg33k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: WI
Posts: 2,449
Just found this thread. Makes replacing the old cluster & matching miles on the new cluster much quicker.

Thank you.
__________________

Ich gehöre nicht zur Baader-Meinhof Gruppe

Quote:
Originally Posted by Top Gear View Post
Just imagine waking up and remembering you're Mexican.

Every time you buy a car with DSC/ESC, Jesus kills a baby seal. With a kitten.


u3b3rg33k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 11:03 PM   #47
tfrain
Noobie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: MS
Posts: 21
Hey thanks! I was wondering how to do this without putting a drill to the odo. I just replaced my gears and wanted to spin it UP to 140K (replacement is only at 40K) to match the documented mileage for the car. Awesome. I did not take the face off and it was not too difficult. Just make sure you have a small pair of needle nose or something to pull the "axle" up a little, then spin the number with a tool or finger (I used the round tip of a mini screwdriver set my wife got for a buck off meritline). It'll take a few tries to get the number to line up, but still less chance for messing up the face of the gauge. I really, really, really appreciate the tutorial post from the OP!!!!
tfrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 06:13 PM   #48
EyExR
E30 Modder
 
EyExR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lawn_Guy Land, NY
Posts: 928
Ragtop - please post the VDO version!
EyExR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 10:54 PM   #49
Bochka916
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 46
I've done this to my civic. Looks easier on civic
Bochka916 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 09:07 AM   #50
Bimmerguy91
E30 Modder
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 982
Thanks for this write up! I was wanting to do this once my car was done since a) I don't have the original cluster so I don't have a clue the mileage on the chassis and b) everything is new except the body. My car is mileage exempt anyway
Bimmerguy91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 09:35 AM   #51
MrSlacker
R3VLimited
 
MrSlacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,478
I just use compressed air to blow at the gears and make them spin in any direction you want it to go...
MrSlacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2019, 01:02 AM   #52
Andrew325is
Mod Crazy
 
Andrew325is's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Portland, Ore.
Posts: 779
I stumbled across this thread looking at E30 cluster issues, faulty odometer and fuel gauge, etc. This is nice to know for anyone who has needed to swap a cluster (or speedo) so they can match it to their car's correct mileage. However, I don't think it's a good idea to zero it out or match the engine. I think the chassis mileage should always match the odometer. I've kept the original mileage on both of my vehicles that have received an engine conversion. I'm proud of the mileage the vehicles have travelled and I think that history should stay a part of the vehicle reflected in the odometer.
Andrew325is is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2004 - 2020 R3VLimited LLC