New to the E30 world

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New to the E30 world

as the title says im new to the E30 world, i just picked up a 87 325ic with 153xxx miles from a friend. i live in Paramus, NJ. for those who may not know where that is, its in Bergen County. anyways im looking for a local who can help guide me through the different types maintenance that need to be done to my car as well as help with choosing mods and whatnot. im not new to the bimmer family, ive owned a e39 528i and a e36 325is. i just hopped outta GTI 337 so im looking to have fun again with RWD. :-D
    Originally posted by evandael
    a car is a car. call it a dildo, i'd still drive the hell out of it.

What do you know of your cars history? Has the timing belt been change as of late? ID say just lurk around these forums and get familiar with e30 terminology. Search is your friend. Buy a Bentley manual as well. Welcome aboard!

COTM

Comment

hmm im not entirely sure when the timing belt was done, im going to have to find out asap, also whats the normal idle rpm on these m20's?

Comment

Valve clearance issues will spoil your day if it breaks. Idle 850ish.

COTM

Comment

yea im familiar with timing belts coming from volkswagens, hmm im assuming i need my valves adjusted, i ide at like 1050 and sometimes even 1100. ive looked up the valve adjustment DIY on pelican parts and i find it to be a difficult task. i dont have the proper tools either

Comment

I would definitely get a Bentley's manual. Also replace the timing belt soon. You may check your idle control vlave, it could be causing idle problems or a vacuum leak.

Comment

Originally posted by hooken m View Post
              yea im familiar with timing belts coming from volkswagens, hmm im assuming i need my valves adjusted, i ide at like 1050 and sometimes even 1100. ive looked up the valve adjustment DIY on pelican parts and i find it to be a difficult task. i dont have the proper tools either