No announcement yet.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hey guys,
    I am a freshman college student at RPI in Troy. I am looking to buy my first car next summer. I have my heart set on the e30 and I am looking for some advice. I have never worked on a car before, but I feel that now is the time to start and learn, I have always wanted to.
    1) I am looking at the late models, '88 and beyond because of them bumpers, I know this has been asked many many times, 318 or 325. I know that the 318 is lighter and has a better weight distribution so I am leaning towards that. However, Troy, where I live, has quite a few hills, will an old 318 struggle?
    2) Is the e30 the right car for a beginner, ie both a new driver and a newbie who has never worked on a car? Easy to work on? Troy has a lot of snow, will she survive?
    3) Perhaps the most important one, I have a budget of $3000 maximum, can I get something decent? I have been trawling through countless classifieds pages with mixed results, I know its early if I am looking at next summer....
    4) I am leaning towards a manual, just because it is more fun. Correct? If I get an auto, how hard is it to do a 5 speed swap? I know there is a good sticky on it, but I can't tell how hard it is.

Thanks!