R3VLimited Forums

Go Back   R3VLimited Forums > E30 Technical Forums > Suspension & Unsprung > 5 Lug Conversions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-26-2012, 07:35 PM   #1
Drweasel
Noobie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: SLC, utah
Posts: 3
5 lug brake bias adjustment

Ok, so for my 5 lug i've got E36m3 front calipers (60mm piston), e34 rear calipers (38mm piston), and an e36m3 master cylinder but i'm confused about the rear brake bias valve. As you know the E30 has a separate rear bias valve located below the brake booster. I've far as i've been able to figure the E36/m3 has no separate valve like the E30. If I remove the E30 bias valve will my car have the same bias as a e36m3 (disregaurding the rear piston difference?) Or does the E36 have some sort of rear bias valve I don't know about? Where is massive lee when I need him lol
Drweasel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 07:51 AM   #2
dsobering47
Mod Crazy
 
dsobering47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fl
Posts: 679
While I dont know this personally, I am about to be in the same boat as you (upgraded to E36 M3 fronts, e30 m3 rears)....I would remove the bias valve for the rear and get an adjustable unit. I know there is a lot of fancy math involved in perfecting the bias adjustment, so dont take it lightly (front/rear pressure differences between the surface area of each caliper piston, etc).
__________________
dsobering47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 08:04 AM   #3
fronton
E30 Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,245
According to realoem, there does not appear to be a bias valve for the e36 M3. My guess would be that the e36 MC dictates a static bias so you could remove the e30's. However, if the e30 bias valve works on threshold, it shouldn't matter if you leave it in, it would net the same proportions as e30s were designed for. Since you don't have any e30 calipers though, I agree with adding your own adjustable unit to dial in your custom combination of calipers.

Lee will know definitively, I am thinking out loud and have my own biasing problems with the stock setup!
__________________
fronton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2004 - 2020 R3VLimited LLC