R3VLimited Forums

Go Back   R3VLimited Forums > E30 Technical Forums > 24V Engine Swaps

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-12-2016, 03:00 PM   #1
E30randy
Noobie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Nanaimo, BC
Posts: 16
Obd2 m52 e30 FPR

For my obd2 m52 e30 swap do I need to get an FPR???
I've just seen that you need a remote fpr if I'm keeping the car obd2 so I'm just wondering if that is correct
E30randy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2016, 05:53 PM   #2
ba114
Wrencher
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 290
Depends on what fuel rail you run.
Get the '96 model with the built in FPR and both fuel hoses at the firewall end
__________________
RHD OBD2 M50b25 turbo build thread:
http://www.r3vlimited.com/board/showthread.php?t=384800
ba114 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2016, 10:53 PM   #3
grinchxvx
Wrencher
 
grinchxvx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: salt lake city
Posts: 287
Just run the obd1 fuel rail that has the fpr built in that's the easiest


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
grinchxvx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2016, 10:41 AM   #4
Klug
Mod Crazy
 
Klug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 793
Everyone will tell you to run the ODB1 M50 rail, granted it is a much simpler setup- however- you can't use the fuel rail vanity cover without extensive modification. I didn't have an M50 rail laying around to swap in my S52, so I ended up using the stock ODB2 FPR/Running losses solenoid. Mounted it under the booster (or in my case under the boosterless setup) This way you get to keep your vanity cover installed and while running OBD2, the DME won't complain about not being able to find the running losses sensor.

__________________
555Garage - Kingston, PA

'13 BMW e70 X5 35d
'95 BMW e34 525i
'92 BMW e30 325i S52 Vert (Quade the Vert)
'89 BMW e30 325i Coupe (The DIRTY30)
'81 VW MK1 Rabbit Caddy Diesel
'76 Honda CB550K Cafe/Brat
'67 Pontiac LeMans
'24 Model T Depot Hack
....And a bunch of Motobecane, Puch, Garelli, Batavus and Honda 50cc 70cc Mopeds...

Klug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2017, 09:41 PM   #5
Brian697
Noobie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: San Diego
Posts: 38
Klug,
Can you share more details on your FPR mount? It looks good.
I am ready to install mine now.
Thanks!
Brian697 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2017, 05:42 AM   #6
amcp
Wrencher
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: st louis mo
Posts: 206
Agreed, please share as I have the same issue.
amcp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2017, 07:18 AM   #7
Brian697
Noobie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: San Diego
Posts: 38
AMCP, I am guessing that he made a bracket that attaches to the booster delete plate mounting bolts.
I have the stock booster, do not believe that there is room in that area.
Brian697 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2017, 05:28 PM   #8
bradmer
Advanced Member
 
bradmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: San Diego
Posts: 160
e36 fpr

I mounted it under the drivers side, pretty sure that's where they mounted it on the e36. I don't recall anything that had to be fabbed to mount it other than the stock piece.

https://www.realoem.com/bmw/enUS/sho...diagId=16_0216


EDIT 7-1-17 1:21 pm: I mounted the fpr in the engine bay above the e30 charcoal canister location. Will try to figure out how to post a picture on here tonight.

Last edited by bradmer; 07-01-2017 at 01:24 PM. Reason: I was incorrect in my post.
bradmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2017, 08:00 AM   #9
Klug
Mod Crazy
 
Klug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 793
Hey guys-

Yeah so I am running Massive booster-less setup, so I had plenty of room under the MC to mount it on the firewall. IIRC there was three mounting holes on the FPR, I ended up drilling and tapping in two bolts to hold it to the firewall and had access on the other side under the foot pedals.

If your running a booster- you should have enough room to mount it to the side frame rail (The spot where the clutch Master/Slave line is at) Just be mindful of the rubber fuel lines- I had a heck of a time making clean bends and curves without the fuel lines pinching at the pivot points.

Here is the large version of the past picture- GL!

__________________
555Garage - Kingston, PA

'13 BMW e70 X5 35d
'95 BMW e34 525i
'92 BMW e30 325i S52 Vert (Quade the Vert)
'89 BMW e30 325i Coupe (The DIRTY30)
'81 VW MK1 Rabbit Caddy Diesel
'76 Honda CB550K Cafe/Brat
'67 Pontiac LeMans
'24 Model T Depot Hack
....And a bunch of Motobecane, Puch, Garelli, Batavus and Honda 50cc 70cc Mopeds...

Klug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 09:03 AM   #10
Corsair89
Advanced Member
 
Corsair89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Shreveport, Louisiana
Posts: 117
Hey Klug,
Sorry to bring this back from the semi dead but do you have to use that 3/2 FPR? Could I use a different one, not the fuel rail, more like the M54 set up? Iím at a stand still for other things atm so itís not pressing right now. Thanks ahead of time.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Cheers!

~Frank

Corsair89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 10:18 AM   #11
Klug
Mod Crazy
 
Klug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 793
Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair89 View Post
Hey Klug,
Sorry to bring this back from the semi dead but do you have to use that 3/2 FPR? Could I use a different one, not the fuel rail, more like the M54 set up? Iím at a stand still for other things atm so itís not pressing right now. Thanks ahead of time.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I mean, totally yeah- I am unfamiliar with what the M54 uses...you need to have some sort of FPR in line- weather it is on the rail itself or in line before the rail (like my 3/2 FPR) Post up a pic of what your thinking of using
__________________
555Garage - Kingston, PA

'13 BMW e70 X5 35d
'95 BMW e34 525i
'92 BMW e30 325i S52 Vert (Quade the Vert)
'89 BMW e30 325i Coupe (The DIRTY30)
'81 VW MK1 Rabbit Caddy Diesel
'76 Honda CB550K Cafe/Brat
'67 Pontiac LeMans
'24 Model T Depot Hack
....And a bunch of Motobecane, Puch, Garelli, Batavus and Honda 50cc 70cc Mopeds...

Klug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 05:57 PM   #12
Corsair89
Advanced Member
 
Corsair89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Shreveport, Louisiana
Posts: 117
So I just stole this off of Jordanís thread. But this FPR getup is what I was thinking.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Cheers!

~Frank

Corsair89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2017, 08:34 AM   #13
Klug
Mod Crazy
 
Klug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 793
Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair89 View Post
So I just stole this off of Jordan’s thread. But this FPR getup is what I was thinking.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
To be honest- I can't see why this wouldn't work- I kinda like that design better than the OEM ODB2 S52 one I have. Granted there isn't any sensor on this one- but I'm sure that is something you can delete especially if you go ODB1. I forget exactly what that sensor does anyway- Go for it!
__________________
555Garage - Kingston, PA

'13 BMW e70 X5 35d
'95 BMW e34 525i
'92 BMW e30 325i S52 Vert (Quade the Vert)
'89 BMW e30 325i Coupe (The DIRTY30)
'81 VW MK1 Rabbit Caddy Diesel
'76 Honda CB550K Cafe/Brat
'67 Pontiac LeMans
'24 Model T Depot Hack
....And a bunch of Motobecane, Puch, Garelli, Batavus and Honda 50cc 70cc Mopeds...

Klug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2017, 11:18 AM   #14
Corsair89
Advanced Member
 
Corsair89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Shreveport, Louisiana
Posts: 117
Yeah I got a 3/2 FPR from the junk yard a few days ago but i don't think that I have that connector required for it. I didn't pull the engine so don't know what happened to it but am willing to bet it was cut to facilitate the removal.
__________________
Cheers!

~Frank

Corsair89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2017, 02:53 PM   #15
Klug
Mod Crazy
 
Klug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 793
Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair89 View Post
Yeah I got a 3/2 FPR from the junk yard a few days ago but i don't think that I have that connector required for it. I didn't pull the engine so don't know what happened to it but am willing to bet it was cut to facilitate the removal.
If you need to run it again, luckily its only a single wire to the DME (MS41.1) the ETM will tell you what pin it goes too
__________________
555Garage - Kingston, PA

'13 BMW e70 X5 35d
'95 BMW e34 525i
'92 BMW e30 325i S52 Vert (Quade the Vert)
'89 BMW e30 325i Coupe (The DIRTY30)
'81 VW MK1 Rabbit Caddy Diesel
'76 Honda CB550K Cafe/Brat
'67 Pontiac LeMans
'24 Model T Depot Hack
....And a bunch of Motobecane, Puch, Garelli, Batavus and Honda 50cc 70cc Mopeds...

Klug is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2004 - 2020 R3VLimited LLC