R3VLimited Forums

Go Back   R3VLimited Forums > E30 Technical Forums > 24V Engine Swaps

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-15-2018, 02:40 PM   #1
TYT30
Noobie
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 7
M50 with getrag 240 ,help needed!

Hey guys, sorry if i have posted in the wrong thread.

I am needing a bit of help with my m50 swap. I am unsure which driveshaft to use as I will be using the getrag 240 and there doesn't seem to be a whole lot of info around that. I am wanting to know which driveshaft to use, which car it is out of, auto or manual etc. Any help would be much appreciated.waffles

Cheers
TYT30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2018, 08:15 PM   #2
brads2002
R3VLimited
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bedford, NH
Posts: 2,580
When I was looking into this it seemed the 318is shaft would work. I didn’t verify it personally as the 240 wouldn’t clear the factory s52 flywheel. I ended up with a 260 and 325i driveshaft. Sorry I couldn’t give you a 100% answer. I have a 318is shaft if you want me to measure it.
brads2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2018, 10:13 PM   #3
jsta1109
Member
 
jsta1109's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Australia, Brisbane
Posts: 71
M52 with G240 from a 318is, so it has a slightly longer output shaft, E36 325i Manual driveshaft worked, probably too short for a 318i G240.

G240 from a 318i will use a 320i Manual Driveshaft, you might find the manual 318is Driveshaft would fit, I found it was about 2cm too long to fit with my setup, but if you have the shorter G240 it might fit.

Last edited by jsta1109; 01-15-2018 at 10:19 PM.
jsta1109 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2018, 04:24 AM   #4
TYT30
Noobie
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsta1109 View Post
M52 with G240 from a 318is, so it has a slightly longer output shaft, E36 325i Manual driveshaft worked, probably too short for a 318i G240.

G240 from a 318i will use a 320i Manual Driveshaft, you might find the manual 318is Driveshaft would fit, I found it was about 2cm too long to fit with my setup, but if you have the shorter G240 it might fit.
So 320i would be a good idea?
TYT30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2018, 03:22 AM   #5
peerware
Noobie
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Belgium
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by TYT30 View Post
So 320i would be a good idea?
Yes, thats what i am using, works perfect.
peerware is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2004 - 2020 R3VLimited LLC