Saving a 325is

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Saving a 325is

Well for starters this is my first post on r3v! Been lurking and reading builds and decided it was time to document the saving of a little old 87 325is. Some background about me is this isn't my first project. I've been turning wrenches on cars since I was 14 and I am now a journeyman mechanic with Mercedes
    Benz. I've built my daily right now, a e36 328is with a 5.0 that i saved from a scrap yard and my first car was and is an 89 Dodge pickup that i swapped in a newer fuel injected engine. Well enough non e30 talk, the story behind my 325is goes that back in 2012 i drove my best friend to La in my then new to me e36 to buy an e30. Well we cam home with a little 325is with a lot of issues. At the time i had no business inspecting a car and saying go ahead and buy it. Well fast forward 5 years and i get a call from my friend saying if he doesn't get the now dead e30 with no key and a bad rear wheel bearing out of his dads driveway its going to the junkyard. Well i immediately offered to buy the car and he told me to just pick the car up and it was mine. Score! So now begins the rebuild and saving of this little 325is to be my oem plus daily.

So as of right now I've already replaced the rear trailing arm bushings, right rear wheel bearing, subframe and diff bushing (came with car in the trunk), new right rear axle shaft, new front control arms, tie rods IE sway bar bushings, akg adjustable sway bar endlinks front and rear (came with car in the trunk), eibach sway bars (came with car in the trunk), eibach pro springs (came with car in the trunk), replacement instrument cluster, removed old nasty moldy carpet- scored a clean tan coupe carpet for 200$ locally.

Next is a valve adjustment, timing belt and all maintenance items.
    Now some pics after all that writing!

e36 with a ford 5.0
    [/url]
    My Dodge w100

Now to the e30

[url=https://flic.kr/p/C5wkSw]