Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Trailer Tie down methods

Hey guys!

About to be the proud owner of a Trailex 7541. I'm new to the whole trailer game so I am looking for the best transport methods and recommendations on straps etc. The new car will have rear shock tie down mounts but I've heard negative things about them.

In for advice.

Thanks!
    sigpic
    1991 318is S52
    1987 325i Vert
    1991 325i
    2011 e70 X5

Need Anything E30? -> http://www.gutenparts.com/

car hauler trailer tie down method

I strap the rear sub frame to a D ring towards the rear of the trailer with a ratcheting web strap, encircling the sub frame with each rear strap, one on each side of the diff.
    During sudden stops it should stay in place, and has so far because when you tow a trailer it's a license for people to act stupid in front of you.

I tie the front factory mount forward to a D ring on the trailer with a ratcheting web strap, one on each side.

I strap over each front tire to a D ring on each side of them with a ratcheting web strap. I'm saving up for some of the tire web strap hold downs I've seen around, they look pretty slick.

During transit I check the straps kinda often because they can loosen depending how rough the road is.

If you look at a flatbed wrecker they have 4 hooks that seemingly stretch the car in place. That's what I'm shooting for.

Comment

Nice looking trailer.

On the rear I use thru-the-wheel straps crisscrossed to D rings (like the black Cayman in the Trailex website) with ratchet straps, on the front I use the factory tie points crisscrossed to D rings with ratchet straps.

You want the tongue weight to be about 12% of you total trailer + car weight.

Comment

I use the tie down that garagistic and AKG and others sell that bolts onto the lower shock mount bolt for the rear.