Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

s52 swap keep ruining alternators

Hi everyone,

My obd1 s52 91’ 318is seems to be chewing through alternators at an alarming rate. This will be the 3rd Bosch remanufactured alternator that has failed within the last year (around 10k miles). The battery light on the dash has illuminated again, so I checked to see if the battery was charging using a multimeter and it’s reading below 12 volts. With the car off, the battery shows around 12.2 volts.

I’ve checked my alternator wiring and all seems to look fine. I made sure to clean the contacts and ensure all connections were securely fastened upon install of the alternator a few months ago. I’m not an expert when it comes to electrical systems, so is there something else on the car I should investigate?

Thankfully I have a spare rebuilt Bosch 140a alternator on hand, but I don’t want to continue throwing new parts at the car instead of fixing the issue.

Any help or pointers would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Joey

Do you have a aftermarket stereo or anything that would put excessive draw on the electrical system? Have you accidentally killed the battery recently by leaving the headlights on? If you have a dead battery and just get a jump without re-charging the battery out of the car, it can overload the alternator and kill it.

Comment

I'm still running the stock radio deck and speaker setup, so no aftermarket audio stuff. I can't say I've killed the battery recently either, but I did let the car sit for about 6 months before putting it back into daily driver status a little over year ago with the same battery (battery is dated 2015).

Comment