85 318i idle problem

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

85 318i idle problem

Hello all, this is my first time posting on this forum. I've been experiencing Idle problems since I bought the car over a year ago, now that she's pretty much restored and the head is rebuilt I would like to get it registered but it won't smog like this. I have no idea what could be the cause. She starts up fine, idles for about 10-15 seconds and then drops and surges and continues to do so steadily. It has no hesitation or loss of power through the gears, and it sometimes feels like it's effected by the brake or clutch (very lightly). A bmw mechanic went through her checking everything for two weeks and was unable to locate what's causing it. ICV,02s,MAP, TPs, Temp switch, and vacuum lines seemed to all be good. he mentioned a few other computers he checked but i didn't get a list of which. One more thing, unplugging the TPs does even out the idle. Anyone out there who might have any ideas?? It would be greatly appreciated! thanks, cody

Welcome! Seems very odd and i know you already said ICV was good but did you try removing it altogether and plugging the lines? My ICV was "ok" but it would still mess with my idle a lot. Not saying this is exactly it but if you haven't tried this is think its worth doing.

Comment

No, i haven't tried removing it all together, but i have tried putting in a working one with no luck. :/

Comment

Mine was "working" too, they just don't seem that great. Also did you check your Idle control unit? I've heard those are touchy. (Btw im not sure thats the official name) Im talking about the little green and yellow box near your ECU.

Comment

Smoke test... Looks like you have a small vacuum leak
          sigpic
          BIMMER für IMMER

Comment