R3VLimited Forums

Go Back   R3VLimited Forums > E30 Technical Forums > Engine & Drivetrain > Transmission & Driveline

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-08-2005, 11:53 AM   #31
BS87
E30 Mastermind
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 1,606
So after quickly fixing the fact that i somehow broke the little ground strap between the starter and solenoid thing, i double checked my wiring, fixed it to look like marvin's and it fired right up. Thanks for all your help guys, and marvin, that picture helped TONS.
__________________
BS87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2005, 04:35 PM   #32
Digitalwave
is a poseur
 
Digitalwave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: FL
Posts: 5,461
Quote:
Originally Posted by bimmerbuddie
this thread is very helpfull,
i will do my swap next weekend, if i get all the parts here by this week
one question, will the 5spd tranny from the e30 fit the m50 engine?
It will fit, but needs a custom cross member because the tranny sits at an angle.
__________________
Digitalwave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2005, 09:08 PM   #33
BS87
E30 Mastermind
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 1,606
The hardest thing i ever did on my E30 before i did my tranny swap was change the brake pads.

Granted, i didn't get the whole swap done in day, but i made damn good time for someone who only had this writeup, the bentley, and questions.


If i can do it, almost anyone can.
__________________
BS87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2005, 03:33 PM   #34
Steve30
Wrencher
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 261
Sticky please!
__________________
1988 M3
2005 330ci
Steve30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2005, 02:29 PM   #35
echothreezero
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: KK, BOI, NZ
Posts: 85
I'm doing this conversion right now. Everythign going to plan so far.

A few pointers: - use a big breaker bar on the torque converter bolts and a big F/O screwdriver on the ring gear and you'll be fine. Or get another breaker bar on the front pulley nut and wedge it against the ground.

- you can change pedals over on some models without removing the pedal box - I did. You still "teach the neighbours a few new words" if you have aircon like me and the lines get in the way, but a lot less hassle than changing the entire box.

- I haven't yet worked our the wiring thing. Some of my wires are diff colours. I have a brown, a Green with yellow, a blue with white and two green with black entering the plug.

Going by the write up I should be joining the two green and black with the green and yellow? Isn't green and yellow power in for the little shift console light and the reversing lights? Brown would be earth for the little console light, and blue the return via the reversing bulbs?

So do the green and blacks need to go to ground, or do they indeed get jumpered to the green and yellow. My manual says I could just jumper two pins on the ECU connector, but that territory really scares me!
__________________
echothreezero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2005, 02:10 PM   #36
echothreezero
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: KK, BOI, NZ
Posts: 85
Got it - 2x green w/ black spliced into the incoming power (green w/ yellow) for the reversing lights.
__________________
echothreezero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2005, 11:58 AM   #37
RobertK
Kicked cancer's ASS.
 
RobertK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 5,856
So that reddish-brown wire is actually a ground?
RobertK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 05:01 PM   #38
Digitalwave
is a poseur
 
Digitalwave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: FL
Posts: 5,461
Quote:
Originally Posted by robmespeedy
Hey just wondering , Can you use the Old starter motor that was on the Automatic on the conversion to the 5 speed ?
or are they identical ?
They are the same, you can reuse it.
__________________
Digitalwave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2006, 08:18 PM   #39
devarato
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: nz
Posts: 66
its the bearing that fits inside the crank shaft, i presume for the input shaft of the 5spd to slot into....automatics do not have them
__________________
devarato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2006, 08:21 PM   #40
Digitalwave
is a poseur
 
Digitalwave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: FL
Posts: 5,461
It's called a pilot bearing. A small gear puller can remove it.
__________________
Digitalwave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 01:23 PM   #41
Digitalwave
is a poseur
 
Digitalwave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: FL
Posts: 5,461
Pictures are completely unnecessary to do the swap, I did it all just by reading this article:

http://www.bmwe30.net/cgi-bin/datacg...158&Section=11
__________________
Digitalwave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 02:20 PM   #42
PУCCKAЯ_e30ka
E30 Fanatic
 
PУCCKAЯ_e30ka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Arden, NC
Posts: 1,226
Send a message via MSN to PУCCKAЯ_e30ka
can a gtg260 from 528e work in '91 325i?
__________________
PУCCKAЯ_e30ka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 01:22 AM   #43
92 mtechnic cabrio
Honesty is not the best policy!
 
92 mtechnic cabrio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Huntington Beach, OC, CA
Posts: 4,907
Send a message via ICQ to 92 mtechnic cabrio Send a message via AIM to 92 mtechnic cabrio Send a message via MSN to 92 mtechnic cabrio Send a message via Yahoo to 92 mtechnic cabrio
Quote:
Originally Posted by PУCCKAЯ_e30
can a gtg260 from 528e work in '91 325i?
yes, in fact, if you use the one from '82 or '83 or something, it's got external bellhousing/transmission bolts.....or something
__________________
R.I.P 07/01/09 - 04/23/10
92 mtechnic cabrio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2006, 11:28 PM   #44
ptownTSI
E30 Fanatic
 
ptownTSI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,265
Send a message via AIM to ptownTSI
anyone have a host for the pictures yet?
ptownTSI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2006, 10:39 AM   #45
///M42 sport
No R3VLimiter
 
///M42 sport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 3,952
Is it really necessary to replace all the bolts/washers new?
///M42 sport is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2004 - 2020 R3VLimited LLC