Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Interest in a S54 itb on M5x head setup?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Interest in a S54 itb on M5x head setup?

I've been toying around with the idea of mating S54 itbs to a M50 (and family) head for some time. I know it's not the easiest thing to do, nor, frankly, the most logical. Having a set of S54 itbs and a dead M50 head, however, I figured why not try? I know it's been done with Jenvey components, but I want to take it a step further.

I'm studying two different approaches, both of which do away entirely with a plenum and intake air tract: my preferred one would involve a short (~55mm) velocity stack, the throttle, then a ~150mm (from throttle plate to head surface) runner close to the original manifold's path down to the head, with the throttle sitting at a 60 degree angle relative to the head. I think this makes the most sense given the original dimensions of the manifold and air intake tract.

The second would involve a traditional manifold plate with the throttles bolted right up, then a curved velocity stack with a port length of about 15cm with a ~60 degree radius towards the driver side of the engine bay (and possibly slightly forward)

I prefer the first approach for three reasons: because of spatial constraints with the morass of hoses and wires under the M50 manifold (putting the itbs there would make the throttle linkage interfere with everything), because shifting the airflow cross-section from the s54 itb port to the wider and shorter M5x port within the thickness of the plate would negatively affect said airflow, and lastly for the admittedly vain notion of appearance.