iX suspension and bushing checklist

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

iX suspension and bushing checklist

ok... going to get it done soon. probably this weekend or sometime next week. ordering parts and want to have a checklist of everything (as well as alternatives to certain parts) so the car will drive like the day it left the factory.

diff bushing (kinda need it.. it's ok shape but wth...)
    trans bushing (one's on it's way out)
    cab (lollipops eh?)
    Control arm itself: just do the whole arm with the ball joints or just replace the ball joints? any special tool needed?
    subframe (yeah, it's SHOT)
    rear strut mount
    front strut mount (?)... i may want to hold off this until i get HD's.
    ehh.... what else? i'm not very good at this. newb to the e30 stuffs.

thanks!

Dan. I know in your advancing age, you can't see certain features of forumz. Like the Search button. :finger: jkjkjk

You might want to change trailing arm bushings. What a pain in the ass that is, even with a hydraulic press (if you decide to go with stock rubber pieces. Urethane = easy).

If you drop the subframe to change the bushings, you should change the rear inner brake lines. They are EXTREMELY difficult to access at any other time. Inspect the rear brake hardlines at the same time. They might be rusty and ready to burst open. That would be bad.

Also, tie rods, lockplates, inspect rack boots for tears, rack clamps. The tie rods are iX specific (read: $$$, like M1 oil filter $$$).

You'll probably need a buttload of fasteners (stealer-only kinda thing):

4 driveshaft locknuts
    2 inner CA locknuts
    2 outer CA locknuts
    2 tie rod locknuts
    2 subframe M14 nuts
    4 strut mount locknuts

The control arms and tie rods may come with locknuts, but I've received them without fasteners more than once...