Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Best way to bleed coolant system without a bleeder valve?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Best way to bleed coolant system without a bleeder valve?

Hey everyone. I finally have my turbo m52 swap running and am looking to actually make my first test drive hopefully tomorrow. I have had the car running multiple times for upwards of 10-15 minutes, but I just can't seem to get the coolant system to bleed properly. I know these cars are notoriously hard to bleed, I have had several e30's e36's, e46's, and e39's, but I just can't seem to get this one to bleed.

I have an m52b28 swapped into my car with a 3" triple pass radiator, heater core deleted, throttle body heater lines deleted, and a late model expansion tank. I have an new 80 degree thermostat installed as well as a new waterpump with aluminum thermostat housing.

Unfortunately with this setup there isn't a bleeder screw anywhere. Does anyone have any tips for getting the system bled? I am going to try and jack the front end up tomorrow and run it for a bit to see if that pushes the air out. I have read online that might work, but nothing else really useful. Is there a way to pressure bleed the system like you would do to brakes?

Undo the upper rad hose at the radiator and fill the coolant system from there. Reconnect the hose and start the car. Add coolant to the expansion tank and leave it open. Run the car with the heater on full blast. Squeeze the upper rad hose and you’ll see bubbles come out of the expansion tank. It’ll take a bit but you’ll get it bled. If you still have issues remove the thermostat and drill a small hole at the 12 o’clock position to aid with air passage.

Comment