Question about smog

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Question about smog

I am still new to California and the whole emissions testing thing so please bear with me....

There's no point to trying to smog my car if it idles at 1400rpm, right? Its kinda always done this, can't figure out why, I have checked all the common things (no vac leaks, tried other ICVs, etc).

Should I break down and just spend the extra money to have it falsified? A buddy says he knows a guy, though I REALLY can't afford it (I think its like $250 on top of the $130 I have to pay the state - OUCH!!!!!).

Thanks for any advice.
    sigpic
    1991 325i Sport - Calypsorot Metallic - DAILY DRIVEN

WTB in SoCal: 8"/10" Lukebox, leather Sport steering wheel, 60L MotoMeter fuel gauge, Thule/Yakima roof rack

if its steady up at 1.4k its your tps. When the ICV doesn't have a signal from the TPS, the vane will stay 100% open.

and yeah, it will fail
    Current Collection: 1990 325is // 1987 325i Vert // 2003 525i 5spd // 1985 380SL // 1992 Ranger 5spd // 2005 Avalanche // 2024 Honda Grom SP

Comment

Not really a steady 1400, often it varies between 1000 and 1400, or 1200 and 1400. One of the ICVs I tried in it caused it to idle at 1800. Sometimes I will stop at a light and it will randomly idle at 1000, maybe up to 30-40% of the time now that I got the correct injectors back in it. When it idles at 1000 it is a bit rough, shakes the car like it has a cam, but so did the previous M20 I had in this car so I assume that is normal at this point. These are 200k+ mile engines afterall.

Well I guess now I need to research how to see if my TPS has failed or if there is a wiring issue, I have no clue where to even start. I really wish I could afford to just support the illegitimate smog people, they really provide a valuable service, but living in California has me so broke I can hardly afford food.

Thanks.
      sigpic