Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Sub par MPG in 325e

Hey Everyone,

Little background I have a 1987 325is that gets about 350-400mpg. I'm a commuter in Atlanta so lots of traffic. I found a 1988 325e that I was hoping would get better gas mileage, but it seems the opposite happened. I'm consistently getting around 250-275mpg in the 325e which is significantly lower than what I thought I'd be getting.

Reaching out to some of you M20 experts to see where I should start looking?

Edit** Both cars running on premium gas

Cheers!

Why premium in the eta?

Comment

I’m not an expert, just offering my opinion. I believe the motronic uses coolant temperature, air flow meter, and the O2 sensor to refine the fuel mixture. If I were having a rich running engine I would replace the coolant temp sensor and O2 sensor.

Do both cars take about 12 gallons to fill up? We have an 87 eta and it usually gets 25mpg, which is lower than it should but it runs good. My 89 i gets about the same, 25-27.
      My son has the 1987 325e, 2 door, 5speed
      I daily the 1989 325i, 4 door, 5speed

Comment

Originally posted by Elysian View Post
        Why premium in the eta?
        Scientific Method, Testing with an experiment on both cars aka have consistency between them

Originally posted by 325e '87 View Post
        I’m not an expert, just offering my opinion. I believe the motronic uses coolant temperature, air flow meter, and the O2 sensor to refine the fuel mixture. If I were having a rich running engine I would replace the coolant temp sensor and O2 sensor.

Do both cars take about 12 gallons to fill up? We have an 87 eta and it usually gets 25mpg, which is lower than it should but it runs good. My 89 i gets about the same, 25-27.
        Yep, both take about 12-13 gallons to fill from empty. I ran the ETA dry the other day and it filled up with a little over 13 gallons.

I've take a look at replacing these sensors and see if there's a change.

Comment