What’s the take on the e28 nowadays?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What’s the take on the e28 nowadays?

My dad had an ‘85 535i manual and I absolutely loved driving that car and its why a got myself an e30 when I graduated from college in ‘92. I haven’t driven one since but I keep my eye open for a decent stock example. They’re really rare around here.

Do they drive nice, like the e30 in the tactile/analog kind of way? Ive always assumed that they would be similar, just bigger and maybe faster.

Do they hold up as well? I’m just curious what the word is now, 30 years later.
    My son has the 1987 325e, 2 door, 5speed
    I daily the 1989 325i, 4 door, 5speed

They're fun, but are much more of a cruiser type car than your everyday E30. Personally I don't think stock is the best way to enjoy an E28, as a worked over M30 is loads of fun and ROW bumpers/bodywork/lights/sport interior really clean up the car.

The steering in an E28 is slow and not exactly precise, but they do have the best door sill for driving windows down of any car I've driven.

They do rust readily, but otherwise are about as reliable as an early E30 if maintained in a similar way.

Comment

The first time I was in the market for an E30, I instead ended up buying a friend's E28 535i with some suspension and performance mods. It drove much better than I expected, and certainly better than my previous E34...Four years later I still have the car, along with an E30 325i I acquired more recently.