SCCA STX E30 Build/Introduction

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

SCCA STX E30 Build/Introduction

Hey everyone, I've been lurking here for a while through the ownership of my last 2 E30s. I thought I would finally introduce myself & my car, & figured the Track & AutoX section would be the most fitting place to do that since I intend to build my E30 to contend at the national level in the STX class in SCCA autocrossing. I apologize in advance, this is somewhat of a long read :oops: But hopefully my knowledge of autocross & the trial & errors of this build will be helpful to the members here in the future. So first off, a little about me & what I hope to accomplish...

I have been autocrossing for almost 20 years now in various cars from the stock to street modified level. I have countless local & regional victories, as well as some Divisional, National Tour & Pro Solo championships. Most of my success has been behind the wheel of Miatas, as quite simply they are the fastest & most capable autocross car there is. But I am ready for a change, & for the 2012 season I intend to prep my E30 to compete at the National level in the SCCA's STX class. I believe the E30 has what it takes to win STX, but most in the autocross community rule it out for various reasons. My goal is to document my build process here in this thread while including all of the experts here on set-up ideas, to ultimately provide an easy-to-duplicate in-expensive build that others can follow in the future :mrgreen:.

SCCA STX rules for those that don't know...

The street touring category is the most popular in SCCA Solo, & continues to grow each year. In a nutshell, the cars are stock with the following exceptions

- Emmisions-legal engine bolt-ons limited to intake, exhaust (with cats), chips/re-flash or any ECU programming in the stock case. Otherwise engine must be totally stock & original...no bolting in a "i" motor in an "e" ;)