Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What happens if I allow my registration to lapse?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What happens if I allow my registration to lapse?

I'm looking for a straight forward answer. I'm aware that driving it could get me a ticket.

1) I live in New York State
    2) My insurance will be continuous throughout the lapse
    3) My inspection is still valid
    4) I wont be driving the car, although it will be parked on the street.

So, under those circumstances, are there any consequences of letting my registration lapse for a few days?

afaik you can still get ticketed if its on the street almost anywhere...
    I take pictures of stuff for a living...
    www.motionblurphoto.com

Comment

I believe you are right.

I am more concerned with fees from the DMV or "pile-up" fees like if it would cause my insurance to be canceled.

Comment

didnt cause fees in VA, i just got a ticket.
        sigpic
        1987 - 325i Convertible Delphin Auto [SOLD], 325i Convertible Delphin Manual [SOLD]
        1989 - 325i Convertible Bronzit m30b35 swapped [SCRAPPED], 325i Sedan Alpine Auto[DD]
        1991 - 325i Coupe Laguna Manual [Project], 535i Sedan Alpine [SCRAPPED]

Comment

why wouln't you call the DMV?

Closing SOON!
          "LAST CHANCE FOR G.A.S." DEAL IS ON NOW

Luke AT germanaudiospecialties DOT com or text 425-761-6450, or for quickest answers, call me at the shop 360-669-0398

Thanks for 10 years of fun!

Comment

In California you can do a non-op, or you can sweet-talk them into giving you a few day passes if you tell them you are working on it to get smogged.
            Originally posted by Matt-B
            hey does anyone know anyone who gets upset and makes electronics?

Comment

Originally posted by StereoInstaller1 View Post
              why wouln't you call the DMV?